Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have been making this pie for years and add a teaspoon of almond extract or a quarter cup of Kahlua. It adds the little bit of zip that takes it to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is a good pie. I added a tub of cool whip because it needed a little something extra for me and well that was it. It went fast with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was good, but very very rich! (Keep a glass of milk handy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
We really liked this pie a lot. It tastes like a good chocolate mousse. How good depends on the quality of your chocolate. I omitted the sugar (and would do that again). In the future I would make my own crust (that's always the best!) and for a variation I would add a brick of cream cheese for a depth of flavor and to help it keep shape at room temperature. This makes a great freezer pie, too. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I liked the taste of this, but didn't have luck getting it fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a fantastic pie! It was very easy to put together. Followed the receipe exactly. It's really rich, so topping with whipped cream is a good idea! You do want to keep it chilled. If you leave it sitting out in the summer it will "melt".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Flavor was just what I wanted and this couldn't be easier. Mix the cream well. Mine wasn't fluffy enough and was more fudge-like which was totally my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Hate to say it, but this recipe is a disaster. I agree 110% with another reviewer who said "It tasted exactly like what it is, melted chocolate chips in whipped cream. There is no depth of flavor." It is sickeningly sweet and tastes like you're eating a slice of melted chocolate chips. In a bad way. An entire bag of chocolate chips goes into this one pie.....I realized things weren't going well when I tasted the finished filling, so I added the rest of the carton of heavy cream and a little salt and lime juice to counteract the sweetness, but it was still just way way WAY too much sugar and chocolate. And this is coming from someone with a major sweet tooth, I assure you. If you want to impress someone with a chocolate pie, stick to a tried-and-true chocolate silk-style pie, because I can PROMISE you, if you bring this pie to a function, it will not appeal to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great easy pie (less than 10 minutes). The family loved it. Made with ingredients that I usually keep around other than the crust. I may start keeping those around now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
AMAZING! I was looking for a RICH chocolate pie, and this turned out PERFECTLY. The texture is so thick, but rich. Very easy to make too (except for the part where you have to wait 8 hours.. haha..) Only thing I would say is that it CAN be too sweet (it makes me feel guilty), but that's not a problem if you're a sweet tooth. Anyway, I normally don't do reviews but this was too good! Will DEFINITELY be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States