Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Flavor was just what I wanted and this couldn't be easier. Mix the cream well. Mine wasn't fluffy enough and was more fudge-like which was totally my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Hate to say it, but this recipe is a disaster. I agree 110% with another reviewer who said "It tasted exactly like what it is, melted chocolate chips in whipped cream. There is no depth of flavor." It is sickeningly sweet and tastes like you're eating a slice of melted chocolate chips. In a bad way. An entire bag of chocolate chips goes into this one pie.....I realized things weren't going well when I tasted the finished filling, so I added the rest of the carton of heavy cream and a little salt and lime juice to counteract the sweetness, but it was still just way way WAY too much sugar and chocolate. And this is coming from someone with a major sweet tooth, I assure you. If you want to impress someone with a chocolate pie, stick to a tried-and-true chocolate silk-style pie, because I can PROMISE you, if you bring this pie to a function, it will not appeal to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great easy pie (less than 10 minutes). The family loved it. Made with ingredients that I usually keep around other than the crust. I may start keeping those around now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
AMAZING! I was looking for a RICH chocolate pie, and this turned out PERFECTLY. The texture is so thick, but rich. Very easy to make too (except for the part where you have to wait 8 hours.. haha..) Only thing I would say is that it CAN be too sweet (it makes me feel guilty), but that's not a problem if you're a sweet tooth. Anyway, I normally don't do reviews but this was too good! Will DEFINITELY be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
very good thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
A fabulously easy and foolproof recipe. A crowd-pleaser. I omitted the sugar entirely and it was sweet enough! I also served it with chocolate-dipped fresh strawberries and some fresh whipped cream. It is essential to serve this at room temperature, makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great recipe. The only thing I changed was omitting the sugar because I thought the semi-sweet chocolate chips were enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
The title of the recipe is 'RICH Chocolate Truffle Pie.' Please stop complaining about it's richness - it says so in the name, so you should've expected it! That said, I didn't find this too rich for my taste. However, I can see why some might like a smaller portion - my mother couldn't finish an entire slice after Christmas dinner. I will be making these again in a mini muffin pan; I think that will be the perfect 'bite' after a meal or at an event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeggyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very good, but also very sweet. I'll try again, and cut sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Easiest and best chocolate pie ever. Rich and creamy and so very delicious. Will be making this often. My daughter told me it was the best dessert I've ever made and I make alot of desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyjobest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States