Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was SOOO good! I ate the extra filling with a spoon from the bowl and its so rich! I made home made pie dough and kneaded in chocolate chips instead of doing a prepared cookie crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
In a word, scrumptious! For the best results, use the best chips you can afford. I used the Ghirardelli 60% cocoa chips and this was so rich, delicious and decadent that it was gone within the hour (I made it as one of several pies for a baby shower). While I am a huge chocoholic, I did use a vanilla wafer crust in place of the chocolate. I felt it needed that contrast for a more complex flavor contrast with the rich filling and it really was quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is a very good dessert. However, I didn't use chocolate chips, I used good quality bittersweet chocolate and folded the whipped cream into the chocolate mixture. My experience tells me beating it in would deflate the filling. Folding is more time consuming but worth it. Also, instead of vanilla, I used a coffee liqueur. Actually, any liqueur or rum would work very well as a flavouring. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Chocolate fix taken care of. You only need a small slice with a large glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have been making this pie for years and add a teaspoon of almond extract or a quarter cup of Kahlua. It adds the little bit of zip that takes it to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is a good pie. I added a tub of cool whip because it needed a little something extra for me and well that was it. It went fast with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was good, but very very rich! (Keep a glass of milk handy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
We really liked this pie a lot. It tastes like a good chocolate mousse. How good depends on the quality of your chocolate. I omitted the sugar (and would do that again). In the future I would make my own crust (that's always the best!) and for a variation I would add a brick of cream cheese for a depth of flavor and to help it keep shape at room temperature. This makes a great freezer pie, too. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I liked the taste of this, but didn't have luck getting it fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a fantastic pie! It was very easy to put together. Followed the receipe exactly. It's really rich, so topping with whipped cream is a good idea! You do want to keep it chilled. If you leave it sitting out in the summer it will "melt".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States