Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Loved this pie! I was very happy when there was one piece left so I could hoard it all for myself ;) I followed some reviewer's suggestions and used half milk chocolate chips and half semi-sweet. I also waited a long time for the chocolate mixture to cool before adding in the whipped ingredients. I did use a pre-made chocoalte cookie pie crust and the filling was the perfect amount to make it a super high pie. After making this pie for the first time a week ago (Thansgiving) I will not be changing anything that I did. It turned out PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLEURDELISAHOLIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this several times. Great, quick easy recipes with good results. Some tips that may help... If too rich, try using either a nicer chocolate than chips like ghiradeli or other gourmet chocolate. Cheaper option is half choc chips and half milk choc chips. If the melted chocolate mix is too hot, it will deflate the whipped cream. Easier yet, mix it all and chill in a bowl. Once it starts to cool, mix it with your beaters. It will make it light and fluffy. You know it has cooled enough when the mix turns into a lighter color when whipped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was a very dense, awfully, rich dessert that needed to be lightened up alot. It was ganache in a pie. Won't make it again until I can figure out how to make it a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The photo -- which I usually rely on -- didn't match the result, and I followed the recipe. It was dense, not fluffy. Super sweet. Didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is an awesome pie. Simple and fluffy. The others that said it isn't fluffy just didn't do it correctly. I whipped my cream a little stiffer and waited until the chocolate mixture was cool enough, mixed on low and wa la, perfect pie. It does need to be served as a small slice (no matter how they look at you), (they think you are being stingy) but, they understand as they eat it -RICH !!!!!!!!! One pie goes a looonnngggg way. I also used a crust made with chopped pecans, butter and almond flour....very good for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Superb! This pie is essentially chocolate mousse in an oreo crust. Simple, easy, and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is amazing! I have made it several times and my only precaution is to follow the recipes exactly -- especially when it comes to cooling and chilling. I pair mine with the Graham Cracker Crust I and a whipped cream "frosting" and there is never a piece left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
this has become a favorite in our house. its so quick and easy and tastes like a lot of work went into it. serve with the easy devonshire cream recipe from this site. family and guests rave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great! For those who say the filling didn't set right - you MUST wait for the cream and chocolate mixture to reach room temp before incorporating into the whipped cream or it will collapse the filling. I placed mine in the fridge after microwaving to melt to get it to cool faster. The finished product was perfect: a slightly heavier chocolate mouse: super creamy but still light texture that went wonderfully with the fresh raspberries I served over top. I even 'recycled' a flubbed chocolate cookie batch from the day before by using overcooked (too crispy!) chocolate roll out cookies to make the crust - they worked great! I loved not having to waste them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
4 stars for original recipe. Slightly modified by increasing amount of cream whipped to 1 cup to cut down a bit on the sweetness. Really easy to make and delicious! Drizzled some remaining melted chocolate mixture on top to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States