Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving it went so quick I had to make one just for ME a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was good, but had too much vanilla extract in it. I believe 1 tsp. would have sufficed. Will make again with that revision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Tasted great, but it was extremely runny. I followed all the directions, letting the chocolate cool for several hours and adding it 1/3 at a time to the whipped cream. I let the pie chill for 12 hours. When we cut into it, the remaining filling just oozed into the empty space with the chocolate level receding like a drying lake bed. The pie disappeared quickly due to the flavor (2 stars), but did not act like a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MajikTreets!
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I am not a fan of chocolate cream pies, I don't really like pudding or chocolate mouse or anything like that very much, so I wanted to find something different. This looked perfect and I'm so glad I tried it. After reading most of the other reviewers, I took advice about making sure to wait for my chocolate mixture to cool completely to room temp and even give it a little longer after I thought it was ready. I noticed that many people liked the pie made with all semi-sweet chocolate chips while others preferred the milk chocolate, so I figured I should do half and half. Then I cut back on the sugar slightly and the vanilla just a tad. I also made sure to add the chocolate mixture to the heavy cream 1/3 at a time as directed. It came out heavenly. It was delicious alone but I whipped up some whipped cream for people to add if they wanted. I also put chocolate chips in top. Served it to the family at thanksgiving, everyone loved it! Even my brother who isn't the biggest chocolate fan. Perfect recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving 2014. AMAZING! Whole family loved it, it was gone in no time. Tastes rich and sweet, but not too sweet. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUCYFROG
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made this yesterday for Canadian Thanksgiving. It was, by far, one of the best pies I've ever had. A one inch slice was plenty for most as it's fantastically rich. Ten stars for this recipe. I made this exactly as directed, including taking notes from the reviews, such as ensuring the chocolate has cooled before adding to the whipped cream so it doesn't deflate, and only adding one third of the chocolate at a time, etc. While making it I was worried I had done something wrong as recipe says "spoon into crust" and mine could be poured. As well it didn't look as fluffy as the featured photo by "Tricia Winterle Jaeger" (I've added a photo of mine). Just now I viewed the "watch how to make it" video by Allrecipes and they pour the chocolate into the crust rather than spooning it, so do keep this in mind if you, too, are able to pour yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYFROG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I've made this multiple times - it's extremely easy and always a huge hit. I've made it with both semisweet and bittersweet chocolate and both work great. If you want to make your own crust, I put 18 or so Oreos in a food processor until finely ground then mix with 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter, press into the bottom of the pan and bake at 350 for 5 minutes. Once it cools I add the pie filling and chill. Yesterday I made it as little mini pies (in a mini cheesecake pan) - it chilled very fast and - as usual - was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I had a beautiful whipped cream, and the second I added the chocolate mixture - just a small amount - it deflated and became soup. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
When using whipped cream in a recipe you fold the whipped cream into the mixture in order to leave the finished product light and fluffy. Sweetness or too much sugar is just a persons preference, I would have tasted the whipped cream while beating to see if it really need 1/4th cup. Also that is WAY TOO MUCH Vanilla. Most recipes like an entire cake usually call for 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Never seen a recipe to one tablespoon for 1 pie............ type error????? Suggestion when whipping the cream the cut the amount of sugar back to 1/4th cup. Do not beat the whipped cream into the recipe, gently fold it in the mixture. Also make sure you add only 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Kids thought this was great! Light and fluffy but a bit sweet for me. Will try with dark chocolate chips next time. Best to make a full day ahead of serving so the pie fully sets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States