Rich Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Excellent! This does make a ton, though, so adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Wonderful creamy chocolate frosting. My family loved it on chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I love the recipe!!!! It makes the quick frosting look discusting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Very creamy,just sweet enough, and I used whipping cream instead of milk. I actually was thinking of something else and melted my butter first so it was a soft set when I began whipping it. A 1/2 batch was more than enough for my 7 layer cake filling and to cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bancroft, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This frosting is AWESOME!!! I made a half batch and it was MORE then enough to frost a 2 layer 9" round cake, will only use this recipe from now on many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
just like my grandmothers icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Very good, creamy frosting. I would suggest adding the cocoa powder a little at a time - I only used half of the suggested amount and the frosting was plenty rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I have used this recipe twice now and it has come out PERFECTLY every time. I used it to frost a 2 layer chocolate cake with a strawberry layer in the middle with chocolate strawberries on top. Be sure to adjust the above recipe with your cake. I halved the recipe and still had enough frosting left over to put away for 12 cupcakes. Be sure to smooth the lumps out of your confectioners sugar! ALSO- I reduced the amount of sugar so it would not be so sweet. I use 2 cups in a halved recipe instead of 2.5 I also use SALTED butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Okay, if you are looking for the ultimate chocolate frosting, this is it! I followed others advice and halved the recipe. It was the perfect amount to frost a two layer, nine inch cake. (I like a generous amount of frosting.) This is the only frosting I will ever use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made half the recipe with 1 cup of cocoa. It frosted a 4 layer 9" cake. I'll never use another chocolate frosting recipe. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States