Rich Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I love the recipe!!!! It makes the quick frosting look discusting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Very creamy,just sweet enough, and I used whipping cream instead of milk. I actually was thinking of something else and melted my butter first so it was a soft set when I began whipping it. A 1/2 batch was more than enough for my 7 layer cake filling and to cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bancroft, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This frosting is AWESOME!!! I made a half batch and it was MORE then enough to frost a 2 layer 9" round cake, will only use this recipe from now on many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
just like my grandmothers icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Very good, creamy frosting. I would suggest adding the cocoa powder a little at a time - I only used half of the suggested amount and the frosting was plenty rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I have used this recipe twice now and it has come out PERFECTLY every time. I used it to frost a 2 layer chocolate cake with a strawberry layer in the middle with chocolate strawberries on top. Be sure to adjust the above recipe with your cake. I halved the recipe and still had enough frosting left over to put away for 12 cupcakes. Be sure to smooth the lumps out of your confectioners sugar! ALSO- I reduced the amount of sugar so it would not be so sweet. I use 2 cups in a halved recipe instead of 2.5 I also use SALTED butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Okay, if you are looking for the ultimate chocolate frosting, this is it! I followed others advice and halved the recipe. It was the perfect amount to frost a two layer, nine inch cake. (I like a generous amount of frosting.) This is the only frosting I will ever use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Wonderful creamy chocolate frosting. My family loved it on chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made half the recipe with 1 cup of cocoa. It frosted a 4 layer 9" cake. I'll never use another chocolate frosting recipe. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Excellent! This does make a ton, though, so adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States