Rich Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TVCHICK
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is the perfect chocolate frosting. I have used it to top several cake & cupcake recipes, including "David's Yellow Cake" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is my go to recipe for chocolate frosting. I always cut the recipe in 1/2 just due to not needing that much frosting. I read a review that gave 4 stars just because they halved it. LOL!! Are you kidding me? Another gave it 3 stars because their cocoa powder was gritty. Is that the recipes issue? Nope. Get better cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Just made this tonight, and it is sooo good! Very chocolatey, smooth, and so decadent. It was really easy to make and tastes amazing. I will never buy chocolate frosting from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is very good for spreading and okay for piping-a little too soft to really hold the piping design-but the flavor is great. My kids thought it was the best frosting for our dark chocolate cupcakes. I scaled it to half and it easily covered 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This Frosting Is WonderFul, It Does Make Alot, I Use It To Frost A 9x13 Double Layered Cake, And It Is Plenty, With Some Left Over ( And Me Eating It While Mixing). You Will Not Go Wrong With Cake, And The Chocolate Frosting Recipe. It Will Give You That Chocolate Fix You Are Craving, I Guarantee Yah!!! Thank You From Florida.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I used 7 C of confectioner's sugar. This made a good texture to the frosting, without making it sickly sweet. When I paired this frosting with the One Bowl Chocolate Cake, together the cake reminded me of a Wegman's chocolate cake. Definitely not it exactly, but reminiscent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Even though I forgot to add the vanilla extract, this frosting was still delicious! I used it to frost a 2 layer 9 inch cake (Black Magic Cake, from this site) and a boxed yellow cake in a bundt pan; it came out fantastic. I used all of the milk and it was an easily spreadable consistency. I had no problems with a crust forming and followed the recipe. I made 3/4 of the recipe and had plenty remaining. Perfect excuse to make more baked goodies to use this wonderful frosting up! Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe tastes just like Duncan Hines Fudge Chocolate Frosting. I have a hard time convincing people I made it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
By far the easiest and best chocolate frosting! And it makes a huge batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poki07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Really great chocolate frosting and very easy to make! Tastes better if you let it sit for a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States