Rich Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
SOOOOO yummy. I make half a batch and it covers all of my three layer cake. However, I usually make 3/4 of a recipe so that I can secretly have an extra container of it in my fridge to sneak spoonfuls of throughout the week. Teehee. BEST CHOCOLATE FROSTING EVER - just make half a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great chocolate frosting with powdered sugar! Substituted unsweetened chocolate for cocoa and melted with butter and it was fabulous! Not always a fan of powdered sugar icings but this one will be used again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
WOW-WEEEEE!!!!!! This is one AWESOME frosting! really chocolaty and delicious! Tastes like a fudgecicle!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
really nice frosting. using a kitchen aid really made it a snap. I goofed and added cocoa that makes hot chocolate -- and since it was sweetened with white sugar it left a little grit. I made up for it by adding a little coffee to replace the milk, and that made it amazing. I think I could have used the hot cocoa chocolate if I would have heated it up to melt the sugar first and then cooled it to use in the frosting. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This recipe was excellent. We cut the recipe in half for 16 servings. We used un-sweetened cocoa, which left the frosting bitter, so we added a glaze of liquid sugar which made the frosting perfect. The glaze was made simply by mixing sugar and water in a sauce pan, then setting it aside for ten minutes to cool and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I followed the recipe as written, but the frosting turned out super gritty and grainy. Not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Awesome finish! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort White, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I always follow a recipe like it is written the first time. Today I made my wife a three layer chocolate birthday cake and I had enough frosting left to make another. Put it in the fridge and will probably find some other kind of cake to make this week. I mixed the coco with the powdered sugar before adding to the butter to keep it from flying all over my kitchen. I used the heavy duty beater that came with my Kitchenaide to beat in the sugar and coco then did not measure the milk at all but drizzled a little and let it mix. Kept adding more until it was perfect. This is the best chocolate frosting recipe I have ever found. Just cut the recipe in half if you are only making one cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This frosting is delicious. I followed the recommendation of letting the frosting sit in the refrigerator for a few hours to reduce the cocoa flavor. It's not to sweet and has a smooth creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States