Rich Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Sooooooo wonderful. So creamy. So chocolatey. This recipe makes a LOT. You may want to scale it down depending what your plans are. Use this to frost the recipe "Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake" which is also choco nirvana. For variation, try almond extract in place of vanilla or add a bit of instant espresso. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Amazing frosting! Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Will never buy another chocolate frosting ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was soooo easy! And delicious, not too sweet at all! I cut this back to 16 servings for cupakes and still had plenty more left over...I guess we will just have to make more cupcakes:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Another reviewer said her husband wanted a bowl of this for his birthday, I can see why! This is the best frosting I've ever tasted and I've been around for a while...lol! I followed everyone else's advice and halved the recipe & also followed another's advice to use 3 cups sugar to everyone 1 cup butter and she was spot on. The sweetness to chocolate ratio is perfect and I will never use another frosting recipe again! This is the best. I made this for the first time for two nine year olds, I used one to test the frosting and his eyes bugged out and he said "yum!" and wanted to know when could he have some cake! I used the crazy cake recipe from this site and after eating the cake he told me he didn't like chocolate before but he loves it now and this is the best cake & frosting he'd ever had! Thank you, you Amy, you made me a hero today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Today is my son's birthday, and I have ruined two different batches of chocolate frosting I've tried to make for his cake. Not wanting to run to the store for "canned" frosting, though I would try a completely new recipe. After reading the reviews, decided to give this one a try. It's a wonderful, easy, creamy recipe and since I was able to make it the first time without ruining it; it's clearly idiot proof! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe and saving the day for me....and the birthday boy. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Very Yummy! Used it inside a cheesecake i made, though will be making it when i make a cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Kalashnik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
so rich and delicious! it's the only chocolate frosting recipe i use now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is a rich dark chocolatey frosting. I used it on yellow cupcakes and was very good with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is the best homemade frosting I've ever tasted!! It was super fluffy and airy, not in the least gritty (as some recipes can be), and it was the perfect balance between chocolate ( I LOVE chocolate), and sweet. In this case the recipe was halved as I knew it would make WAY too much frosting for a single cake, and the recipes was followed to a "T", oh, and did I forget to mention that it was my 11 year old son who made it?? It was that easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States