Rich Chocolate Chip Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These bars are unbelievably delicious! A blend of short-bread like crust, with an unbeatable combination of chocolate and toffee bits in the topping. Personally, I like the taste of toffee with milk chocolate rather than regular semi-sweet, so I have used either milk chocolate chips, or else I "chunk up" a large bar of milk chocolate. Also, making these with fat-free sweetened condensed milk does not change the taste one bit. My family doesn't like nuts, so I leave them out. TRY THEM! They are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Followed the recipe EXACTLY (I even measured out the chips instead of just dumping them in) and they look exactly like that cute little picture, but these should be called "un-inspired chocolate chip bars". There is very little actual toffee flavor and the bar has just a mediocre taste. I was certainly under-impressed. I have no idea what all the rave reviews are for and why this is considered "super" rich. Please! This wasn't even as sweet as a regular candy bar. Which is surprising when you look at all of the sweet things that go in it. But I looked at the recipe 20 times since then wondering how I could have such a different experience. But nope...I did it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Corby, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
THE MOST REQUESTED DESSERT RECIPE EVER and hands down all-time family favorite. I've made bunches and bunches of times and they freeze well, too!! This one is dangerous for me to have in the freezer, however, because I crave them just knowing in they're available. My husband is not a sweet eater, but he LOVES these and cannot resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
Absolutely Fabulous...rave reviews! Just a warning though...this is rich! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I made these for our New Year's party and they were a big hit. Easy to make too! I used mini-chocolate chips instead of the big ones and it turned out very well. And, I accidentally left them in the oven a little long, but they still turned out great! Definintely mistake proof! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This is a very tasty,easy alternative and very nice change from your everyday choc. chip cookie! The recipe is easy to follow with delicious results. I made each serving size quite small, with this recipe yeilding about 60 servings. Small servings due to the VERY rich and flavorful bars. I was impressed with how easy this recipe is and even more impressed with the end result! *I added all the toffee bits to the top during the last baking step as I didn't want hard crunchy candy texture on top & added additional 1/2 cup chopped pecans to top layer for final baking as well*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
At our house we refer to these as "Sinful Bars". They are very rich and thick, and fantastically delicious. They also freeze well and stay fresh-tasting for quite a long time after being defrosted, if you can keep them around long enough to prove it! We LOVE these bars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made these to take to a party. I did omit the nuts. I think these are good but I'm just not crazy about the sweetened condensed milk in them for some reason. I wonder what it would be like with a jar of caramel sauce poured over instead of the milk...I may try that :) But, it's obviously all up to individual tastes. Looking at the reviews, most people loved them. I liked them but don't think I'd make them "as is" again, I may try the caramel :) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Absolutely delish!! It's a great candy bar that's so easy to make! I got a little mixed up with all of the ingredients that needed to be reserved to make different layers. I put the remaining toffee bits on before the final baking, but that didn't matter! The results were still great! The sweetened milk mixes with the crust to create a caramel-ish layer. I had to refer back to the recipe, because I wasn't sure if I had added any caramel and just forgot! I highly recommend this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Great! VERY rich - a little goes a long way. These are fantastic with pecans. I also used an 8 oz. bag of Heath toffee bits (measured as 1 1/2 cups), and just omitted the 1/4 cup that you put on top at the end. The bars were so chocolately, it wasn't even missed. Be sure and turn down your oven 25 degrees if using a dark pan. I forgot to, and the bars were hard on the edges - my fault. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States