Rich Chocolate Chip Toffee Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Absolutely delish!! It's a great candy bar that's so easy to make! I got a little mixed up with all of the ingredients that needed to be reserved to make different layers. I put the remaining toffee bits on before the final baking, but that didn't matter! The results were still great! The sweetened milk mixes with the crust to create a caramel-ish layer. I had to refer back to the recipe, because I wasn't sure if I had added any caramel and just forgot! I highly recommend this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Marianne~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
extremely rich and sinful. I am so glad I am intending these for a giveaway to the neighbors, as I would not trust myself. I was intrigued by the crust and it proved to be a winner; tasted like butter toffee all in itself. Didn't have toffee chips so subbed butterscotch morsels and it was not disappointing. I didn't want to overbake and end up with a hard crust so followed the recommended baking time and although I was a bit leary, followed instinct and took them out. After cooling completely they cut perfectly and crust was just right on spot. Cut into small pieces since these are very rich. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
These are pretty darn good! They are simple, gooey and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I loved these. They were easy to make, (don't melt the butter). I was a little worried about them being too sweet so I cut the toffee in half. They were still great and would probably have been great with all the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was great. I accidently added the toffee to the top before cooking, but it didn't burn or anything and it tasted great. I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
These bars were quick to prepare, and tasted great. I thought there was too much chocolate, though, to the point that the toffee flavor got lost. When I make these again, I think I'll omit the last sprinkling of chocolate chips on top, and maybe even cut back on the chips in the dough, so the flavors are more balanced. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
delicious! its toffee with chocolate, whats not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
My boyfriend has such a sweet tooth and he loved these. I omitted the nuts since we're not big fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHIKLET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Oh, man. I don't even have a sweet tooth and these are just incredible. I made them for my in-laws and my mother-in-law said it was one of the best things she's ever tasted. Now THAT'S saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
These never stay around for long. I've made them several times and have always gotten compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States