Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It's not Onion soup without the caramelized onions! People leave this step out to save time--but it adds a savory depth to the broth. HOWEVER, don't caramelize with olive oil--use butter only. I sometimes roast an onion on my grill and add that to the mix. Also, try a cognac instead of sherry or wine. Traditional French Onion soup uses stale French bread which has a texture that is less soggy and it doesn't taste stale in the soup. Try vegetable broth instead of beef--it is healthier and tastes just as good. I use four grated cheeses together; Swiss, smoked Gouda, Gruyere and cheddar. Finally, try red onions--they are sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Perfect! Quick, easy and Delicious! Definitely restaurant quality! Followed the recipe exactly (except for caramelized the onion). Absolutely Delicious! Thanks for sharing! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this tonight for my husband and he absolutely loved it. My neighbor came by and tried it and devoured it. I followed the recipe to a "t" and was told don't change a thing. This is becoming a staple recipe for week night dinners. It really only took about an hour to make from start to finish and was so easy. If you like French onion soup, give it a try. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Absolutely delish. I didn't have any sherry and it was yummy. And I did not add any salt. The broth had enough...even the low-sodium. Def going in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made my first onion soup today. Tasty! But the advice to brown the onions is good advice. I used thick sliced provolone, bad idea I love cheese but it was too cheesy. It was quick easy and tasty A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Simply the best French Onion Soup out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Amazingly simple and delicious! An incredibly easy recipe for someone who appreciates a gourmet taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I've tried this two ways: with the suggested beef broth, and with more traditional beef stock (keeping in mind that stock is made with actual bone marrow, as in from-scratch recipes). Stock lends that extra measure of savoriness, no doubt about it! I'm sure others have also gone this route, and they're not really messing with a good thing...they're following tradition! Enjoy either way---this is a can't miss! (By the way, those of us who've been sampling the nation's French onion soups will enjoy and appreciate this one all the more, leading us to wonder what some restaurants are thinking!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buellbabe
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this last night and loved it. It was so easy to make and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States