Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linds
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This recipe is the bomb!..along with the suggestions from the reviews! Definitely caramelize your onions first, toast your sourdough before adding, and a splash of cognac at the end. Voila!...oh, and thanks for the recipe. Cudos, Ms. Levin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Great recipe.... Used 32 oz beef stock and 12 oz beer instead of cooking sherry. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I thought this recipe was great. I have little one serving size bowls that I can put in the oven, and it's a great and filling recipe for a nice cold day. Thanks for putting this up here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
A-MAZING! I don't normally like French Onion Soup but LOVED this one! Used red and yellow onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This tasted just like my favorite French Onion Soup at a certain restaurant. The only thing I did different was to omit the swiss cheese. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I've been craving French Onion soup for months now. This soup is perfect. I didn't have the stock so I added about a cup and a half of water with 2 beef bullion cubes (I made a single serving) I also didn't have the thyme or sherry but it's brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Made this recipe for dinner this evening. I skipped the bread and cheese on top. I'm sorry, I know it is a hallmark of this dish but even with toasting I find that addition to be soggy so I did shredded provolone & mozzarella on top and had egg twist rolls with garlic parmasean butter on the side. My son helped cook it so it is definitely a simple recipe. My husband ate two big bowls of it so I guess it was tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States