Rich and Simple French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Great recipe.... Used 32 oz beef stock and 12 oz beer instead of cooking sherry. My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I thought this recipe was great. I have little one serving size bowls that I can put in the oven, and it's a great and filling recipe for a nice cold day. Thanks for putting this up here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
A-MAZING! I don't normally like French Onion Soup but LOVED this one! Used red and yellow onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This tasted just like my favorite French Onion Soup at a certain restaurant. The only thing I did different was to omit the swiss cheese. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I've been craving French Onion soup for months now. This soup is perfect. I didn't have the stock so I added about a cup and a half of water with 2 beef bullion cubes (I made a single serving) I also didn't have the thyme or sherry but it's brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Made this recipe for dinner this evening. I skipped the bread and cheese on top. I'm sorry, I know it is a hallmark of this dish but even with toasting I find that addition to be soggy so I did shredded provolone & mozzarella on top and had egg twist rolls with garlic parmasean butter on the side. My son helped cook it so it is definitely a simple recipe. My husband ate two big bowls of it so I guess it was tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and the olive oil to 1 TBSLP, carmelizing the onions for one hour, and lowering the heat. I also added 1 tsp of Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 cup of sherry and reduced the amount of thyme. The boxed beef broth I used was low sodium. Used a combination of gruyere, mozzarella and parmesan cheese, adding some inside the crock bowl before pouring in the soup. Great comfort food on a day when there's a blizzard going on with 2 ft+ of snow! Thanks Lori for the great starting point. GO PATS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States