Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2000
I've made this recipe many times and it is really good. I usually add freshly grated parmesean cheese to it. Be careful not to put too much in the blender at once or the lid will blow off and you'll have hot soup everywhere (that happened to me the first time I made it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
This is an absolutely delicious and easy soup to make. It tastes exactly like the tomato-basil soup I look foreward to each time my wife and I eat at our favorite Italian restaurant in Alameda, CA. Thanks for the wonderful recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
WOW!! Everyone - including my 4 year old and 2 year old - loved it. Despite the butter and cream, it wasn't heavy. Will make many more times. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
My wife thinks this is better than served a famous french resturant. I agree Thanks holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
This is absolutely the best tomato soup I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This is a wonderful, flavorful soup. I agree, the fresh basil is a must. Perhaps a tad rich; I may try a little less butter next time. But I know I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I have made this soup many times, always with rave reviews! I add the basil leaves and some crushed garlic to the tomatos and juice while simmering for added flavor. I also use a stick blender to puree the soup right in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
I didn't want to mess with peeling tomatoes, so I used two cans of whole peeled tomatoes(It is more than the recipie called for but it worked). I drained, seeded and diced them before adding them to the juice. I also added garlic (~3 cloves) and some basil to the toms and juice per another review. It was so easy and fabulous. I added it to my favorite list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Tomato Basil soup is one of my very favorites so I was very excited to find this recipe! I've shortened the recommended cooking times and this takes me an *easy* total of about 30 mins to make. It also freezes well! I serve it with sourdough rounds and caesar salad.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
Rich and creamy says it all. I used a "stick blender" by Braum instead of pouring it into another container. This tastes just like the soup at La Madeleine's! It is so rich, I just serve it in small cups with a sandwich. I will make this again many many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States