Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
THE BEST recipe yet for tomato soup--don't go with "low fat" items though, use real butter and cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
While at Gettysburg Pa. I had a Soup and Sandwich plate at a Friendly's , The soup was Tomato Basil and realy got my attention. Since I returned to Utah I have tried to find the same taste and flavor . I came across this site and made the soup according to the Recipe .. not going to change any thing it is a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
followed recipe to a T, wife called it liquid pizza, should be called pizza bisque
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.d.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Awesome soup! I doubled everything but the butter and cream and it was still plenty rich and filling. Highly recommend making this,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The recipe is just fine. It tasted like the soup I had in RI on a recent trip. I guess I just don't love tomato soup as much as I used to. I over boiled the tomatoes , so they softened too much and getting the seeds out took a long time. (that was my first time doing that) as I was "deseeding" I knew in my heart there "has to be a better way"...so take a minute and google it (or whatever) and save yourself some time. After that process the rest was a snap, really, really simple. If you love tomato soup, this is restaurant quality ...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
OMG...this was soooo good and easy!!! We all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Elfering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoMomma
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Well I made a double batch of the recipe today EXACTLY as it is said to be made and I think it has serious potential. The problem is the acidity of the tomatoes. It is overbearing. Maybe it is the time of year I'm trying to buy fresh tomatoes though. I will however go home and take the advice of others and just add a little bit of sugar and I'm hoping that does the trick because either way this is dinner tonight for my family of 6!! Lol, I think it will be fine. As others have stated though, next time I make this recipe I will saute some onions and garlic and add that to the tomatoes while they simmer, but that is just personal taste. I can't get enough onion and garlic in my kitchen! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this and it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Henderson Skedsvold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Update: I never do this, but just had to pop back in to say that this is our favorite soup ever, and I make it at least once a month. (Just had a bowl for lunch.) This time I forgot to buy fresh basil so I threw in some that I had dried from last year's garden, and it was just as flavorful. Thanks for this great recipe! **** So simple and delicious my so was slurping it up before he even knew what was in it. I thought he hated tomatoes—apparently not. Like others, I didn't peel or seed the tomatoes, but pureed everything right in the pot. I enjoyed the texture of the small seeds. Thank you for this delicious recipe! We had it with grilled cheese made from the Amish white bread recipe I found here and make every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very delicious. We made some grilled mozzarella sandwiches (with fresh chopped basil) to go with this and it was an awesome sunday afternoon lunch. I would probably add a few more tomatoes and use low-sodium tomato juice because I'm super-sensitive to salt and love the flavor of tomato but this was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Dunphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States