Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
It's really good. Wife and kids loved it and can be picky at times. I'm not a cook by any means and this was easy to make. I substituted the fresh tomatoes for diced canned tomatoes to make it easier. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
To much of a basil flavor. If was to make again would cut the basil in half at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Fowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made garlic naan with this soup - delish! I bought Target's tomato juice and used fresh ground pepper and sea salt. If you don't have an immersion blender, then ladle into a blender. You'll have to double the recipe, because it will be lapped up in no time! I generously poured the cream, and used the full stick of butter, and didn't find it too rich. The kick comes from the basil, which in my case, was fresh picked and quite minty. It is just tart enough to remind you it has a load of vitamin C, but still be enjoyable. BTW - don't follow the advice of the reviewers who put the entire tomato without removing the seeds, unless you like chewing through seed pieces in every spoonful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was pretty good. I think I had some pretty large tomatoes, so it wasn't as rich as I expected, but I also didn't seed and peel based on others' reviews. Maybe next time I will actually do that, or add more cream/butter. It had a great basil flavor. Slight modifications: I had some sweet onion leftover with the greens on top still, about a 1/4 cup max, so I threw that in there. I also added 4 large cloves of garlic. Garnished with chives and some parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alishalouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was not what I was expecting. It tasted like it was a base for a vodka sauce not a tomato soup. I followed the recipe to the letter. I recommend you enjoy the taste of butter more than tomato if your going to like this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I went with half the butter and cream and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was delicious, a big hit in this house. I cut some roma tomatoes in half, seasoned with salt, pepper and olive oil and roasted them in the oven at 375* for about 45 min .. and left out the tomato juice .. this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great and simple recipe! I used fresh homegrown tomatoes and took the shortcut of not seeding or skinning them...still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDABISHOP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe would have probably gotten 5 stars if I had followed the recipe exactly. I ended up having to make some substitutions because I used what I had in my kitchen without making a trip to the store. But what I made was sooooo delicious, I think I am going to make it the same every time!! I subbed fresh tomatoes for a 28 oz can of whole roasted tomatoes plus one 14 oz can of tomatoes. used one can of tomato sauce, and one can of chicken broth. added white pepper and hot red pepper flakes... oh, and I roasted a whole head of garlic in olive oil wrapped in foil for 45 minutes, and squeezed the whole thing in there.. and I mixed in about 1/4c of parmesan when adding the cream. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States