Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was fantastic. I considered tweaking it, but decided to make it as listed above. It turned out GREAT! Such a yummy recipe. I read at least 100 of the 800+ reviews.I think I only came across two reviews that gave it less than 5 stars. One complained that the cream ruined it. Um... The title indicates that it is CREAMY Tomato Basil Soup. Yes, it is a very rich and creamy style. YUM! I typically make my Tomato Basil Soup non-dairy, but decided to try this for a change. It was scrumptious. I did taste it pre-cream and it was super yummy at that stage too. I would use it in either form very happily. The 2nd bad review gave it 2 stars because they weren't told to be careful when they puree -let the hot cool enough to not explode, etc.. I am very sorry they got burned, but even they said the recipe was all the 5 stars and more and that the only reason for the low rating was because of their lack of knowing how to handle hot foods for puree. Not fair. SO.. ALL that to say... SUPERB recipe as is. It is one I will keep and remake. It will be fun to play with it also. I would love to experiment with some Italian sausage and cheese accents, but that is just because I like to experiment. The recipe as is works great. Kudos to the chef of this recipe! ps. I made a monster batch using 20+ tomatoes for freezer portions. Even super sizing the recipe worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
fresh ingredients = awesome soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Absolutely wonderful soup. Good enough for company. Only change was that I used an entire can of tomato juice. My friend gave me some slightly bruised tomatoes from her garden. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I love this recipe! I will use it over and over and over again! I did not use a half cup of butter that just seemed like a lot. I only used a table spoon full of butter and that seemed plenty. Also I added a little more basil because I love love love basil! A great pairing for this soup is a ceasar salad and a glass of red wine (cabernet or merlot) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Really good. I did not peel or seed. Regretted it later. After it was finished, due to my not following recipe, I had to put it through a food mill. MY FAULT. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is by far the best recipe. I have just finished making, amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I found this soup very disappointing. First, of all it took 1 1/2 hours to make, not 45 minutes. The prep took 1/2 hour. Second, although it tasted delicious, I got one of the worst cases of Acid Reflux I've ever had. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I followed the recipe perfectly but I added chopped garlic for some extra taste. With our without the garlic, this is easily one of my favorites because it is so simple and comes out OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
For all those worried about calories, relax. Why? How many calories are in the tomatoes? Then, take the calories from the cream and butter and basil, and it isn't near as much as it seems. I used basil from my garden. Perhaps we are light on it, but it made more than 4 servings when eating with moderation -- unless you eat nothing else. It is a beautiful, rich soup. AT least as good as Panera's from my point of view. I made it as is and was delighted -- as were my three teen boys and husband. I have also tried it with adding a pinch of ancho pepper, ground fennel, bit of onion, bit of garlic, bit of celery salt, a 2 tsp of sugar. That version was yummy. This is great as is, and one can adjust and play with the add-ins. Depending on what you have with it, you can be wonderfully creative. Definitely makes a great soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. I started thinking of all of the different foods they serve at Panera that go with soup!! Lots to enjoy. Excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States