Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Simply delicious soup. I used the tomatoes that I had canned last August for the tomatoes and liquid. The soup is fresh and creamy. I substituted roasted garlic salt for salt. Pairs well with toasted cheese with tomato and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This soup is so ridiculously good. Definitely don't skimp on the basil. Used an immersion blender to puree at the end. It was so delicious, best tomato soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Bensley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Made this for the first time today and sooo good. I made it according to the recipe, no tweaks and it was smooth, flavorful, just downright delicious. When I make it again I won't peel the tomatoes and I think I would puree the basil with a few cups of the tomato mixture and then pour the rest of the tomato mixture in to the blender and do a very light pulse, leaving some bits for texture. Otherwise, I wouldn't change thing. Great recipe. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Simple and delicious! I made the recipe as stated with just one change. A heaping teaspoon of minced garlic was added to the simmering tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Excellent...followed directions as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Amazing. I only made two changes. I replaced two cups of tomato juice with chicken stock and subtracted the salt. Then I added some crumbled bacon. So good for cold weather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Lovejoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Very bland. I gave it 2 stars only because it was edible...and very simple. But I would NEVER make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Klein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I wanted to put my new Vitamix to the test, so I didn't peel or seed the tomatoes. I used Romas because they were on sale at the Farmer's Market and doubled the recipe. After I blended (and the Vitamix passed with flying colours - no peeling or seeding needed) I found that the soup was a little lacking. I added 6 Tablespoons of sugar and this evened it out nicely. Everything else about the recipe was perfect. It definitely wowed some dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I used to work in Cosi and loved Tomato Basil soup. This was my first time I made tomato basil soup myself and it was delicious. Recipe is very easy to follow , I only made one mistake which was blending the mixture too much. It should taste better if there are little chunks of tomato. Anyway I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I've made this soup two or three times now and it is to die for! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States