Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I didn't have basil leaves, but I had some basil pesto I added instead. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have been using this recipe for a couple years now. It is wonderful! Can't make it too often because when I do, I eat the whole pot within a day! And I always double it. I use canned diced tomatoes and they work just fine. Also a little easier. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Incredible! I used 1/2 the butter, 18-20 fresh basil leaves, 1 teaspoon sugar (since my tomatoes weren't totally ripe), and 1/2 teaspoon of salt and pepper. We cut up tortillas and toasted them to put on top, along with bacon bits, cheddar cheese and scallions. 3 cans of cambell's tomato juice worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Well, it was one of those days that one hopes fervently to get to the market but fails to actually do so. I had only a bit of cream, but I did have fresh tomatoes and basil, so thought I'd give it a try. It was bitter, but we're in winter now, so I don't expect really sweet tomatoes, and I had to add quite a lot of sugar. Next time I'll seed my tomatoes as other reviewers suggested. I added a tablespoon or so of butter; I would not have added half a cup of butter to a soup under any circumstances. I thought the soup was very good anyway. It had a clean, fresh taste and a steady hum of basil underneath all the tomatoes. Hubby liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I think the cream was a nice touch, but the soup overall had a tart flavor, not the rich tomato flavor I was hoping for. I also didn't care for the buttery flavor. And the soup definitely needed a good bit more basil. If I try making it again, I would double the amount of basil. To be fair, I halved the recipe...sometimes that can affect the quality of a dish. But I wasn't able to figure out how to get the flavor I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wonderful flavor. Used garden tomatoes. Make a double batch every time and my boyfriend raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lemmon, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Delicious! Fresh, full bodied, flavor packed! I followed the recipe and will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Cut the butter to 1/4c and left everything else the same. Amazingly good and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Absolutely LOVED! Even my picky kids loved it. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Sprinkle on some parm cheese and this recipe is 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danifeather

Displaying results 101-110 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States