Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I went with half the butter and cream and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was delicious, a big hit in this house. I cut some roma tomatoes in half, seasoned with salt, pepper and olive oil and roasted them in the oven at 375* for about 45 min .. and left out the tomato juice .. this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great and simple recipe! I used fresh homegrown tomatoes and took the shortcut of not seeding or skinning them...still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDABISHOP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe would have probably gotten 5 stars if I had followed the recipe exactly. I ended up having to make some substitutions because I used what I had in my kitchen without making a trip to the store. But what I made was sooooo delicious, I think I am going to make it the same every time!! I subbed fresh tomatoes for a 28 oz can of whole roasted tomatoes plus one 14 oz can of tomatoes. used one can of tomato sauce, and one can of chicken broth. added white pepper and hot red pepper flakes... oh, and I roasted a whole head of garlic in olive oil wrapped in foil for 45 minutes, and squeezed the whole thing in there.. and I mixed in about 1/4c of parmesan when adding the cream. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Incredible! Incredible! Incredible! Only thing I did was half the butter and heavy cream (tastier, healthier, and saves money!). No film if you half those two. I also added in a teaspoon of salt. I find that is the perfect amount. Amazing. I don't de-seed, and I don't take off the skin. The tomatoes make the recipe, so get the best you can find (farmer's market preferably). I put a dash of sugar to off set any bitterness leaving in the seeds might cause. My vitamix made it so you couldn't tell I didn't de-seed. Let mixture cool before putting it in blender. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Very simple, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Awesome soup! Only blend half of it so its still chunky, I normally cook it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Perfect! I used 2 cups Pastene Kitchen Ready tomatoes and 2 cups low salt V-8 juice, 2 cloves roasted garlic and I roasted the fresh tomatoes before adding them into the soup. I also added just a bit of freshly grated parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Wow. Top notch!! Superbly simple yet exquisite flavor. Very easy to make and very delightful to eat. I'm having a hard time exercising restraint waiting for dinner. I could easily eat this all myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this for my Dad tonight for dinner and he really enjoyed it! He said it was restaurant quality,and that he can't go back to the canned stuff ever again.Thanks for the recipe MARBALET,we will definitely using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easy_meals_win

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 869) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States