Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I wanted to put my new Vitamix to the test, so I didn't peel or seed the tomatoes. I used Romas because they were on sale at the Farmer's Market and doubled the recipe. After I blended (and the Vitamix passed with flying colours - no peeling or seeding needed) I found that the soup was a little lacking. I added 6 Tablespoons of sugar and this evened it out nicely. Everything else about the recipe was perfect. It definitely wowed some dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I used to work in Cosi and loved Tomato Basil soup. This was my first time I made tomato basil soup myself and it was delicious. Recipe is very easy to follow , I only made one mistake which was blending the mixture too much. It should taste better if there are little chunks of tomato. Anyway I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I've made this soup two or three times now and it is to die for! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe could not be easier! It certainly doesn't taste like it. This is a keeper and thank you for sharing such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this recipe tonight and it was phenomenal. Just absolutely wonderful. I served it up with a grilled cheese for my roommate and I and got probably the best review I could have asked for: "I would have been more than happy to pay $20 for that in a restaurant and I would have been totally pleased with it." I agreed! I like a really thick tomato soup so I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of flour at the same time as the butter and cream and built up from there until it was the consistency that I wanted. That was the only thing I changed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
SO easy and SOOO GOOD!!! (The prep took me a lot longer than listed though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Ultimately, the consistency was velvety and the flavor was delicious. My initial mistake was trying to use fresh vine ripe tomatoes in NOVEMBER. I recommend canned only if you are not making this in season. You will be able to tell if your tomatoes won't make a strong soup if during the blanching process your tomatoes falls apart and becomes grainy. They will also lack flavor. Therefore, My batch needed an extra amount of canned tomatoes to balance the dominant richness from the cream and butter. Overall this is the perfect basic recipe that is flexible enough to handle adjustment and still turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Pinon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I try and often times fail. This was great! Loved it! Will make it again. Followed the directions with only the addition of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was wonderful. Made it with my canned romas. Cut butter & heVy cream by 1/4. Wouldn't change anything else...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was outstanding. I made a couple modifications as other reviewers mentioned. I used only 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup cream. My intent wasn't to cut calories/fat -- I did it because it tasted better with less cream/butter. I also cooked the tomato mixture about 2 hours before adding the cream/butter. I added 3 cloves of garlic as the tomato mixture simmered. A definite 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States