Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was so-so. in my opinion. Mine was too watery and the goat cheese didn't really do much to perk up the flavor. Next time I'd use 2 eggplants instead of 1 and use parm instead of goat cheese. I'd try it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very tasty!! I used 1/2 light cream and 1/2 milk to reduce the fat. I will go with even more milk next time. I didn't remove the seeds from the tomatoes, but should have. I ended up straining the soup after it was pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This soup was pretty good. Would have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
It was good, but not great. I followed the directions exactly, but added some fresh rosemary. It's missing something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very good! I followed the recipe since this was my first try. I only have one suggestion. Cook the eggplant twice as long and at 325-350 degrees. My onions were starting to burn before I felt the eggplant was soft enough. I finally fished them, the tomato & the garlic out of the pan and let the eggplant finish. I did use 2% instead of cream. 2% IS cream to us! Forgot the cheese at the end, so that will be on the left overs. All-in-all my husband and I really liked it. Thanks for sharing this! Eggplant soup was a new one to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I doubled this recipe, using two eggplant but instead of six tomatoes I just used four. I halved the heavy cream and used skim milk to make up the difference. Added a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and cayenne for some heat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This soup is amazing. I used whipping cream instead of heavy cream and it came out fantastic. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinbaird
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great soup. I did do some changes to the recipe. I added a red pepper and carrots to the roast mixture . Instead of cream I added skim milk and used grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pilot Butte, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a good and interesting soup. I made this for my father and he doesn`t care for goat cheese, so I omitted it, but I would definitely use goat cheese in this soup. I used water instead of chicken broth and added rosemary and basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this soup! Who knew eggplant could taste so good?! I have to admit the appearance of this soup is not so appealing, but one taste will convince you! My soup was rather thin, so after my first taste, I added some red lentils, which thickened it nicely and complimented the flavors well. Reheated well in microwave for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States