Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Sort of on the bland side...glad I fried up and crumbled some bacon and added it to the cheese sauce. Also, I hope the 1 quart casserole is a typo. I knew that 4 potatoes, 1 onion, and approximately three cups of sauce wouldn't fit into a 1 quart. Ended up using a 3 quart pyrex bowl so nothing would overflow in the oven. Will probably make it again, but will play with spicing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I doubled the amount of cream and cheese and did three layers instead of only two. I also put the dish together the night before to the point where you put it in the oven to bake, covered it with foil, let it cool and refrigerated it. I let it warm to room temperature while my ham was baking, took my ham out when it was hot, and baked the potatoes while I was glazing the ham. Potatoes came out when the ham went back in to bake the glaze and everything was perfect and ready all at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Boiling the potatoes made them bland soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Everything about this recipe was perfect, except that the final result was much too rich for my taste. Next time I try this, I'll use whole milk and see how it turns out. I was surprised that the potatoes didn't turn to mush - I cut them maybe 1/8-1/4" thick and boiled them for about 3-4 minutes. They were nearly done when I moved them to the casserole, so I thought they were going to dissolve into mashed potatoes during the baking, but they turned out with the perfect "bite" to them. The Gruyère melted and browned nicely, too. 54 minutes in the oven was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made a lower fat version using 1/2 greek yogurt and 1/2 heavy cream with a touch of garlic salt and onion powder. I also LOVE rosemary, and was serving this with roasted hens, so I added fresh rosemary to the recipe which greatly complimented the Gruyere. (not too much though- it's easy to overpower things with rosemary!) Overall a quick, easy, yummy recipe that my whole family enjoyed (the kids asked for seconds!). And I agree with other reviewers - the fresh nutmeg makes a GREAT addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is uhmazing. I got RAVE reviews from my family. I can't believe how easy it was to make this recipe- my family told me it was like ''eating heaven!'' Yay! (I made it exactly according to this recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
we all loved it. Very expensive cheese but hey, it's Christmas! We wished it had more sauce but I may have not compensated enough for additional potatoes. Also, next time, will add a light sprinkle of salt or other favorite salty seasoning to each layer when assembling. I would say we're about light to average in the salt-to-taste department but it was just a little bland - maybe the cheese brand was less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Made this last night for the first time. Used 2 cups cheese. I love cheese. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrusseleac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Pretty good. May or may not make again. I wasn't totally knocked out, but they were serviceable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made a few changes...simmered the potatoes after I sliced them. Used 2 cups of cheddar, added a tsp of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States