Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
The following is my review for this outstanding recipe that I reviewed when it was still a personal recipe. Reviewed on Nov. 22, 2011 by Avon Thanks Celeste for the perfect, perfect au gratin potato recipe. Such a simple and yet elegant taste. Easy to put together and whatever you do, don't skimp on the ingredients. Use fresh ground nutmeg, the heavy cream, the yukon golds, and most of all the gruyere. It's not everynight of the week anyone needs to splurge on something so decadent, but for a special occasion or to make a meal memorable, just do i t. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Potato perfection. I chose to slice my potatoes a little thicker, perhaps between 1/8 and 1/4 inch, and only boiled them a few minutes to ensure they would not be reduced to mush. I’d do so exactly the same next time. These are, indeed, rich and creamy and develop a beautiful and extra delicious golden brown crust as they bake. I loved the subtle flavor of the nutmeg (fresh does make a big difference I believe), which was an ideal choice to enhance, just slightly, the flavor of the potatoes as well as that gorgeous Gruyere cheese. Not only were these a decadent taste sensation, they were remarkably easy to assemble as well – no sauce to prepare, just layer cream and cheese! After sampling these it will be interesting to see if I ever go back to traditional au gratin potatoes prepared with cheddar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Recipe Group selection 3/17/12. My only deviation from the recipe was using Jarlesburg in place of Greuyere, which was $21.99/lb. This was so good with the lesser cheese, I can just imagine it as written. Celeste, this is another winning recipe, thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Celeste...these potatoes are so yummy! Quick to put together and so creamy, my family loved this dish. I nearly broke the bank on the Gruyere but it was so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 17, March '12 Oh my goodness is this a great potato recipe! I halved the recipe, but wish now I would have made the full recipe. I've never had, nor purchased Gruyere cheese (quite expensive at $15.98 lb.) but it was so worth it! Lucky for us, I still have enough cheese left to shred and make another half batch. Thanks Celeste for sharing - this was a great pick this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...This is potato perfection!!! I could not believe how easy this was to prepare and the end result was fantastic...everyone RAVED! I had planned a different potato recipe and at the last minute decided on these, so I had already had whole, boiled potatoes, so I just peeled them, sliced them thin and proceeded w/ the recipe. I seasoned them w/ some garlic powder and salt (as well as the pepper and nutmeg) to compensate for what I did not do during the boiling, which worked out fine. Also, and I know this is major, so PLEASE forgive me, but I actually only had a very small amount of Gruyere on hand that my mom gave me, so I did end up using some creamy Irish white cheddar (Ballyshannon) as well, and it went perfectly. These were so creamy and flavorful...a real hit at dinner. I will def be making these again and again (probably subbing cheeses as needed, lol). Thanks, Celeste, for this wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These weren't awful. I just felt they were a little bland and not worth the cost of the cheese you put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by key151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Great recipe. It is expensive to make & loaded with calories & fat. However, it is a wonderful recipe for holidays & special occasions. I did a trial run last night to taste the outcome (made it exactly as written) & it was terrific !! Will be making again for Easter dinner & will probably not make again for many months. Wonderful recipe, the best au gratin potatoes I have ever tasted !! Yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Made for Recipe Group. I love potatoes done this way. I sliced in the food processor, then grated some Amish Swiss, the Gruyere they had at the store was just a tiny little wedge. I developed Oooh Shiny disease while trying to boil the potatoes and overcooked them, so ended up with mashed potato gratin. I only put nutmeg in half the dish, then forgot which end. But whichever end I tasted sure tasted fine!! All creamy and cheesy and peppery, can't get any better than that! Thanks Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Seconds were taken by all on this. Creamy and tasty. Sort of expensive but the taste is worth it. Would compliment any meat dish very well. And could easily be doubled for a larger crowd. Nice pick Recipe Group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States