Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These weren't awful. I just felt they were a little bland and not worth the cost of the cheese you put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by key151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Exceptional flavor! Wonderful even a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Delicious! Made this for a crowd for Easter. Followed directions exactly but had no time to peel the potatoes so I left the skins on. Took about 45 min in the oven to cook nicely. By the time we ate, the dish was pretty much cooled but there was STILL nothing left of it by the end of dinner! Fantastic! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smartyounglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These were delicious, however, I used a mandoline, which sliced the potatoes extra thin, then I proceeded to boil for 8 minutes. I shouldn't have even par boiled, as I ended up with mashed potatoes au gratin. Ooops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made this for Easter and it wasn't much of a hit at all. I expected a much creamier texture. Don't think I will make this again especially with the expense of the Gruyere cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
BLAND!!! I made these for Easter dinner, spulrged for the Gureye cheese, used Yukon Gold, garlic, the whole nine yards. A few folks liked them, but was not a hit by any means. Disappointed! Don't know until you try! I will not make this one again. Sorry Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Potato perfection. I chose to slice my potatoes a little thicker, perhaps between 1/8 and 1/4 inch, and only boiled them a few minutes to ensure they would not be reduced to mush. I’d do so exactly the same next time. These are, indeed, rich and creamy and develop a beautiful and extra delicious golden brown crust as they bake. I loved the subtle flavor of the nutmeg (fresh does make a big difference I believe), which was an ideal choice to enhance, just slightly, the flavor of the potatoes as well as that gorgeous Gruyere cheese. Not only were these a decadent taste sensation, they were remarkably easy to assemble as well – no sauce to prepare, just layer cream and cheese! After sampling these it will be interesting to see if I ever go back to traditional au gratin potatoes prepared with cheddar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Absolutely delicious and a great potato dish for special occasions. Do not be afraid of the nutmeg as it provides a unique flavor that will tickle your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe! Made with Easter dinner today and was a big hit. Complemented ham and pineapple casserole nicely. Made a few adjustments since it was a last minute put together...didn't have cream so used can of evaporated milk, red skin potatoes instead of yukon, cheddar cheese instead of gruyere and was hesitant about nutmeg so used parsley. Also added onions to the pot of potatoes with extra garlic. Once all put together I drizzled melted butter over the dish before baking... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were good....but they really didn't knock my socks off or anything. I think given the cost of the cheese being about $21.99/lb I will try a different (and cheaper) one for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyel Dille Casselman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States