Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
have yet to get any creamy baked potato dish right, which isn't the fault of the recipe. I subbed a mix of mozza & swiss cheeses, and had to use mostly milk so that may be where the sauce part didn't turn out so well. Does need more seasoning though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Thank you for this recipe! We've made au gratin potatoes a number of ways, but this is by far (and away) the best effort to-date. Paired this with a juicy ham for Easter guests and it was the biggest hit on the table. Elegant, easy. the Gruyere cheese is what makes these memorable. I made a mistake and added about a 1/2 cup too much cream (used 1/2 and 1/2), but the ham took longer than expected, so by the time dinner was on, the spuds were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. It lacked flavor and it looked like the cheese seperated or something. I dunno. There just wasn't a creamy texture like I was expecting. I do believe I'll be searching for a different recipe for Potatoes Au Gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
So decadently delicious! This recipe is perfect for any holiday table because it is so special! Creamy goodness! Thanks for sharing Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These were wonderful! I was looking for indulgent potates for Easter and these fit the bill perfectly. I did sub in cheddar for some of the Gruyere, because the Gruyere was so pricey, but I don't think the sub made a lot of difference. Perfect potatoes for festive meals!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I'm wondering, based on the fact that this has such a high rating otherwise, if the Gruyere that I purchased at the deli was just too tasteless. There was almost no cheese taste at all. These were good. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These weren't awful. I just felt they were a little bland and not worth the cost of the cheese you put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by key151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Exceptional flavor! Wonderful even a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Delicious! Made this for a crowd for Easter. Followed directions exactly but had no time to peel the potatoes so I left the skins on. Took about 45 min in the oven to cook nicely. By the time we ate, the dish was pretty much cooled but there was STILL nothing left of it by the end of dinner! Fantastic! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smartyounglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These were delicious, however, I used a mandoline, which sliced the potatoes extra thin, then I proceeded to boil for 8 minutes. I shouldn't have even par boiled, as I ended up with mashed potatoes au gratin. Ooops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States