Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! I made this for my parents. My dad said he wished it was cheesier and creamier, but my mom and I thought it was just right. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Well, this dish didnt turn out to be creamy although i've added milk and flour to make a sauce or kind of bechamell...it's tasty but i wanted it to be more creamy and savoury...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I made this exactly according to the directions but it was pretty disappointing. It came out very bland and the only thing that was redeeming was that the Gruyere tastes so good. I used really expensive Gruyere but ended up having to throw this out. I couldn't get anyone in my house to eat it! Maybe I'll try again and modify it. I gave it an extra star because I LOVE the idea of using Gruyere instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
have yet to get any creamy baked potato dish right, which isn't the fault of the recipe. I subbed a mix of mozza & swiss cheeses, and had to use mostly milk so that may be where the sauce part didn't turn out so well. Does need more seasoning though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Thank you for this recipe! We've made au gratin potatoes a number of ways, but this is by far (and away) the best effort to-date. Paired this with a juicy ham for Easter guests and it was the biggest hit on the table. Elegant, easy. the Gruyere cheese is what makes these memorable. I made a mistake and added about a 1/2 cup too much cream (used 1/2 and 1/2), but the ham took longer than expected, so by the time dinner was on, the spuds were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. It lacked flavor and it looked like the cheese seperated or something. I dunno. There just wasn't a creamy texture like I was expecting. I do believe I'll be searching for a different recipe for Potatoes Au Gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
So decadently delicious! This recipe is perfect for any holiday table because it is so special! Creamy goodness! Thanks for sharing Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These were wonderful! I was looking for indulgent potates for Easter and these fit the bill perfectly. I did sub in cheddar for some of the Gruyere, because the Gruyere was so pricey, but I don't think the sub made a lot of difference. Perfect potatoes for festive meals!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I'm wondering, based on the fact that this has such a high rating otherwise, if the Gruyere that I purchased at the deli was just too tasteless. There was almost no cheese taste at all. These were good. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These weren't awful. I just felt they were a little bland and not worth the cost of the cheese you put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by key151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States