Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Absolutely Fantastic! Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merry A Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made these using my kitchenaid stand mixer slicer attachment. The potatoes come out thin so they crumbled after boiling. I will probably try just blanching them next time or maybe just putting them in uncooked. I also substituted the cheese for the smoked version. They came out incredibly creamy and yummy. Will definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe was not worth the expense or effort. My husband and I made this on Christmas Day and were disappointed. It lacked taste. For the expense of good Gruyere cheese, we thought it would be a lot better. We followed the original recipe and did not modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Engstjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Yum! I can't handle all the dairy in heavy cream so I substituted soy milk. It turned out great. I'm sure the original recipe would be even more decadent though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexykatmeow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made these potatoes for a large group and everyone loved them so much there were none left over even though I made a double batch. The only thing I changed was I cooked up some bacon and then grilled sweet onions in a small amount of the bacon grease then added both the bacon and onion (sparingly ) in-between the layers of potatoes. They turned out great and now everyone wants the recipe. Give them a try, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I really wanted to love this recipe, but after making it twice I can only say I liked it. If I am going to justify the cost of the Gruyere, I have to LOVE it. It was easy to prepare: I only boiled the potatoes for about 5 minutes, and the layering process was a breeze. But, the final product is merely a mediocre, bland dish. And in our house, a $20 side dish needs to be FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My husband LOVES this dish! I make with smoked gouda and it is so rich and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made these potatoes for Easter with ham. Very good but a little bland. I added some of the ham drippings to the potatoes when they were just about done and I also added some onion to the potatoes when assembling. They turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this for Easter dinner, which meant there wouldn't be a lot of time to prepare it after the morning church service. I made the entire dish up to the point where it was ready to bake the night before, then covered and refrigerated it overnight. I was worried the potatoes would be mushy, so I sliced them a bit thicker than the recipe called for, but they were just fine. They baked while I roasted the asparagus and tossed the salad, and were perfect. I loved the Gruyere in this, and would definitely make it again. This reminded me of the individual baked portions of au gratin potatoes I've had at a local steakhouse - one of my favorite splurges there. Thanks for sharing Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States