Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This recipe could be great but definitely not as written. the gruyere in the middle is completely lost. I would use something like mozza, chedder or maybe swiss instead. there was no sauce after they cooked. I would include more liquid next time. the potatoes shouldn't be cut very thin as stated in the recipe, and even cut thick the potatoes should only be boiled for a minute, maybe two. I added shallots to mine but there could have been a bit more flavour. I might try again with these modifications, but I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Bland, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
keep this one ! it's very good and easy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Wagenseller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
We loved this recipe. I halved the recipe since it was just for the two of us I used half gruyere cheese and half sharp cheddar(already shredded) since other people who tried said that worked well also. I'm sure all gruyere would have been delicious but it is very pricey and we are used to using cheddar.I ended up using more cheese then the recipe called for since it didn't seem enough when I was putting it together.I added more until it looked right(next time maybe even more).It was very delicious but not as creamy as I hoped but my boyfriend only had compliments, even when we reheated some for leftovers. We still have more left, it is very rich and filling. I didn't have fresh nutmeg and if I can find it another time I make this(and this is definitely a keeper and I will make it again)I will try it. I put ground nutmeg inside not on top since usually my boyfriend doesn't like the idea of it in savory dishes(he didn't know) I put a little red pepper in it also and a bit more cream. I did what some others suggested and turned the potatoes off as soon as it boiled. Maybe a minute or two later since it boiled before I noticed, lol. I thought letting them sit in the water while putting the dish together would cook them more so I took them all out with a slotted spoon. A fork could pierce them but they were still firm. I was concerned about them getting mushy in the casserole being . They were perfectly cooked.I put in a little more then 11/2 lbs. of y.g.pot.I used an 8X8 dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
My husband and I loved this recipe! My kids were not as crazy about it as we were. I think they're not used to gruyere cheese which has a particular flavor. The day after my husband and I made breakfast burritos using the leftovers as well as Easter ham leftovers in whole wheat tortillas...yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I have successfully substituted half and half in many recipes for heavy cream, but this didn't work week at all for this recipe. It came out thin and soupy instead of creamy. I think I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This was my first-ever attempt at potatoes au gratin, and I found it very easy to make, which I appreciated. I used an apple-smoked Gruyère mixed with Fontina, and added quite a bit more garlic than was called for. My only critique is that they could be more flavorful: next time I might add some crumbled bacon and experiment with more spices. The family loved it as is, a big fave at Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Potato nirvana! Thanks for sharing this decadent & rich potato dish Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
We've made this four times now, and it is consistently great. Follow recipe exactly- no need to change a thing. Splurge on the gruyere- it's worth it. Used 10-12 oz- coarsely shredded. Sliced the potatoes a little thicker- that way they hold up better. Careful not to overdo the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made this for Easter. Mistake ... It was very,very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Mount, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States