Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I am eating this Recipe right now and I am very pleased with how it turned out. I used Unpeeled Little Red Potatoes and Peeled Yukon Potatoes, and Sliced them Thin. I recommend that you just bring them to a Boil, with your Diced Fresh Garlic and the 3/4 Teaspoon of Salt. Then immediately remove them and place them in a single layer in a 9 x 13-inch Baking Pan. Then add some Chopped Diced Zucchini, Onions, Red and Orange Peppers, Turkey Kielbasa, and Canned Mushrooms. Sprinkle on some Grated Cheese, I used Fresh Middletown Tomme from West River Creamy in Vermont, and 1 Cup of Heavy Cream (with 1/2 cup of Water, since our Heavy Cream is very Fresh and Thick). Now you have a Complete and Delicious Meal. Going back for Seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I have never rated a recipe before, but this recipe was such a hit for my family that I had to rate this recipe. I have been trying to make scalloped potatoes for my family for years. The other recipes were either too bland, too caloric, or just didn't work. This recipe is perfect. Tasty, easy, and satisfying. Rave reviews from my teenager and husband. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious if you follow the recipe. But... it's also fabulous if you make it with other cheeses like Colby-jack or cheddar or even a mix of cheeses. Go with what you like and you can't go wrong. I make this with 2% milk and it is awesome. So make as is or tweak for a different cheese flavor or to lighten it up calorie-wise. Any which way, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
For 20 yrs I have made a similar recipe. I saute butter, chopped grn. Onions and cayene pepper till soft add 2c. Heavy crm., 1c. Milk, heat till it breaks a boil, add the sliced potatoes (russets work better) and some chp. Pardley, cook till potatoes start to get soft. You can add more milk if needed. Put in lightly buttered casserole, top with parmigiano cheese grated then Swiss Cheese shredded (guyer cheese gets to oily it breaks down and separates too much. Oh, salt & pepper to taste while cooking and you can also add some finely chopped red bell pepper, bake until golden brown and bubbly. 375 for 35 to 40 min. This receipe is fantastic. Taste tested fot 20yrs, cannot miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I cannot tell you how often I have made these. So good!!! It only takes about 1/4 pound of the Gruyere cheese and I buy it in chunk and grate it myself. I made it once putting the garlic raw in the layered potatoes. We didn't like it that way as much as it took away from the cheese. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
For those of you who are hesitant to try this recipe because of the cost of Gruyere, I have a tip. Grate cheap grocery store brand Swiss cheese; it costs roughly $3 per pound instead of $18 or so per pound like Gruyere. Then pour about 3 T. of white wine over the 2 C. of the Swiss, toss, and let sit for at least 15 minutes. When ready to use, blot with a paper towel to remove excess wine, and it will remarkably cook up just like Gruyere. Your palate won't know the difference, but your pocketbook will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scorpio1882

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Served it with Easter Ham and it was gone before the ham. Easy to make, doubled recipe and added more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this for Easter it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb
Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
What a great change on scalloped potatoes. I used smoky Gruyere cheese. The added garlic in the pare boil stage was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States