Rice with Herbes de Provence Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Delicious concept - made it even easier by using instant white rice. Melted 2 tbsp of butter in the micro and mixed the butter with the herbes and salt, then poured it over the prepared rice and fluffed it all together. Do NOT substitute for the Herbes de Provence. The lavender in the Herbes is what gives this rice its distinct and aromatic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is great rice! I subbed 1/2 tsp. each rosemary, thyme and marjoram for the herbs de Provence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
tastes even better the next day. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Simple and Delicious! Used one 14 oz can of low sodium chicken broth, so added a little water to make it two cups. Will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezCristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Made recipe exactly as stated. Served it with a nice baked tilapia recipe I have. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is a really nice side for a poultry dish. I made it to accompany my chicken Francaise and it was perfect, a great step away from plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I liked this a lot!! I used Italian seasoning b/c I couldn't find Herb de Provence. Thank You for a very nice rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
First time: This was a great way to serve up rice, unfortunately my herbes de provence blend was a bit heavy on the lavender so it had too much of a soapy taste in a few bites, however that wasn't the fault of the recipe and my wife and I loved it! Second time: learning from my previous mistake of not having all the herbs separate, I used 1/2 tsp of basil, marjoram, thyme, and rosemary. For authenticity sake, I added a dash of lavender. I used jasmine rice which called for a 1.25:1 ratio of water to rice, so I was worried it may have not absorbed all the water, but the rice came out absolutely perfect. While the portions of herbs I used ended up being a bit over 2 tsp, it still tasted great. I think next time I'll try doing a garni bouquet of the same 4 herbs + lavender and see how much better it gets. As it stands now, I'd easily build a meal around this if I had company I was trying to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very refreshing and flavorful!I follwed the directions exactly with the Herbes de Provence. My husband thought I had purchased a gourmet rice blend. He could not believe that I just whipped it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Really great simple dish that is almost scandalously too simple! I used veggie broth and it was just fine, although next time I might take another reviewer's advice and saute some onions and garlic to mix in as well to add some flavor dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fig Muffins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States