Rice with Goodies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
Although I enjoyed this one, my husband and teenager did not. Could use more flavor to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
This is a great way to use up leftovers. Turkey is not inherently very flavorful, but when you add all the "goodies" in this recipe, that white meat will be gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
Great use of Thanksgiving leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Fantastic! I didn't have turkey so I omitted it. But I did use Crasins, which were really good. A great base to just throw in your favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
What a fun recipe! While the rice was cooking, I chopped everything up lickity-split and had a balanced, delicious meal in about 40-45 minutes. It’s colorful, and has a blend of flavors that kept my family looking at their plate to see what exactly they would bite into next. Also a very strong point of this recipe is the flexibility of ingredients. If you don’t have something…OR want to add one of your favorites…OR more or less of one particular ingredient, it would all still turn out tasty. Thanks so much, Doreen, for sharing such an easy, fun and nutritious recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Great Recipe! Even my very picky husband and kids ate it. I think it needs more meat to be a main dish. I doubled the turkey, I think next time I might even triple it. I left out the mushrooms, and bacon. I also used instant rice. (2 Cups dry) But this dish has lots of great flavors. Great alternative to fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I cooked the turkey that was taking up so much space in my freezer, but my family got pretty sick of leftovers when the gravy ran out. Dinner tonight HAD to contain turkey but I was longing for something different. This recipe is REALLY different and all of us loved it. It was such a nice break from the standard casserole recipes for leftover turkey. I didn't have peas so I left them out and I substituted walnuts for almonds (because that is what I had). After eating it this time, I think I will add pineapple another time. I am always trying to increase my family's fiber intake and I was thrilled to see the numbers. By using pre-cooked bacon, there was also no added fat. The ideas are endless and I was plesantly surprised by this recipe. Healthy and yummy! Thanks Doreen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was an excellent way to use my leftover turkey. I did 2 minor substitutions to use what I had for ingredients on hand. I used pecans and cilantro instead of almonds and parsley. The raisins add such a surprising dimension to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Hi, I made this last night based on the reviews here and really I did not find it that great. The only things I had changed was I used the precooked bacon, pecans instead of almonds, and cilantro instead of parsley. My husband also didn't think it was great - it was ok but nothing special and I wouldn't make it again. It seemed a little bland. I would also suggest cooking some of the veggies first - the mushrooms take much longer - and the apples were sort of mushy by the time the mushrooms were cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States