Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I liked this recipe because it is high in fiber and protein and low in fat. I made a few changes. I used brown rice because it is healthier and cooked it seperately in low sodium, fat free chicken broth. To the broth I added cumin, tumeric, garlic powder and onion salt to flavor the rice as it cooked. In another pot, I sauteed sweet onion and garlic in 1 tbs of olive oil. After veggies became translucent, I added 1 (10 oz) can of tomatoes and green chilis and 1 (15oz) can of drained black beans and heated through. After rice was cooked, I tossed the bean/tomato mixture in with the brown rice and added a splash of lime juice. As condiments, you may want to add a dollop of low fat sour cream and/or low fat cheddar cheese. Very tasty and healthy meal. Deb, Georgia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I have a very similar version of this recipe. The one I used called for draining & rinsing the beans, adding 2 minced garlic cloves (instead of garlic powder), adding 2/3 cup water & using 1 and a half cups of instant brown rice (instead of one cup white rice). Instead of stewed tomatoes, I used diced tomatoes & just added some garlic powder, onion powder & basil. This last time I added a dash of cayenne too & a little leftover slivered cooked chicken. It's fine meatless though. It's a nice meal to make when you don't have something defrosted & want something quick, easy & nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
Quick and Yummy! I adopted different suggestions and made my own delicious beans. I did not add rice but cooked rice separately and served the rice with the beans on the side. For the beans, I thoughly drained and rinsed the beans to get rid of the tin taste. I used 1/2 of a very large fresh vine-riped tomato, 1/4 of a green pepper, 1/2 onion, 1 clove minced garlic. All veggies were finely chopped except for tomatoes which were bigger. I used extra virgin olive oli to saute the garlic and onion. I then added green peppers and tomatoes with salt and fresh ground pepper. I added black beans a bit of water and chopped 1 slice of ham (omit if you're vegetarian). I used basil, oregano, paprika and cayenne for flavor. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of water. add more water if you want. I let it simmer for about 5 min. in low heat. I'm eating it right now with a bowl of rice, some sliced avocado, cheese and fresh tomatoes. Oh my god, it tastes so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Instead of using instant rice, I prepared regular rice, then I also added cooked and chopped chicken breasts to make this into a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Roth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was pretty tasty...but I REALLY doctored it up. I added a can of corn to the recipe. And, also used brown rice b/c it's so much better for you. I added chili powder, garlic salt and used green onions instead of cooking onions. Needed salt. Also, I cooked rice in broth, so it did have extra flavor. But, w/ the corn and tomatoes, it was a pretty dish. I topped it with a grilled chipotle chicken breast (covered in low fat melted cheddar and low fat sour cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I can only best describe as a "metallic, tinny" flavor. I don't think using the liquid from the beans was a very good idea. It tasted too much like the can and overwhelmed the few spices / flavors in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
very delicious! I made these for a dinner with a vegetarian friend and she loved it! I served them with warm tortillas. very very good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Surprisingly good for such a simple dish. With a bit of cheese on top while nice and hot -- delicious. I added a bit of cayenne pepper and onion powder to it as well. Will be making it often with variations because it's so good-for-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Tasty! It was a little dry, so I added about a cup of water while it was cooking. I had to sub brown rice for the white (didn't have white). I served it with hot sauce, and my sister & brother-in-law LOVED it! Thanks Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This was a great quick rice and beans version. I spiced it up a bit with some hot sauce and it went over very well. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States