Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Good side dish. I followed other's recommendations: Olive oil instead of vegetable oil, diced tomatoes instead of stewed, 2 cloves minced garlic, and garlic powder, onion salt, and a bit of basil. The recipe turned out surprisingly sweet- a nice counterpoint to and pairing with a medium or hot salsa. Very easy and quick to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I followed others advice about the garlic, oil and brown rice but I also added about half a package of taco seasoning to give it more flavour. I also added chicken breast and made it a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
An easy recipe to put together...I took others' advice and used olive oil, diced tomatoes, minced garlic (instead of garlic powder) and added 3/4 cups of chicken broth. I also added hot sauce and some sprinkles of cayenne pepper. Without the hot sauce and cayenne pepper, I think it would have been pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! As I college student it has everything I need- healthy, quick, and inexpensive. I'll eat it by itself or add shrimp or chicken. I use two 10oz cans of Rotel tomatoes, it adds enough kick without having to add additional sauces or spices. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
My family really enjoyed this healthy recipe. Didn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
tasty. i added tofu and cilantro. healthy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Excellent! What a simple, tasty, healthy and inexpensive meal. I'm giving it 4 stars only because I changed a few things. I followed others advice and did the following: 1. Olive oil instead of vegetable 2. Brown rice 3. Added a can of green chiles 4. Drained/rinsed the black beans 5. Added minced garlic 6. Topped it off with fat free cheese and sour cream. Will definitely be making this one again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Hearty and delicious. Just needed a little tweaking - I used brown rice instead of white, minced garlic instead of powder, and added some chopped, cooked chicken and about a cup of mild salsa. Then I topped it with a garnish of shredded cheddar. It was very easy to make and so good - I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Very good!! I used Rotel tomatoes instead and also added some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was pretty tasty...but I REALLY doctored it up. I added a can of corn to the recipe. And, also used brown rice b/c it's so much better for you. I added chili powder, garlic salt and used green onions instead of cooking onions. Needed salt. Also, I cooked rice in broth, so it did have extra flavor. But, w/ the corn and tomatoes, it was a pretty dish. I topped it with a grilled chipotle chicken breast (covered in low fat melted cheddar and low fat sour cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States