Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Very yummy! Perfect for lunch. I've had a can of black beans in my cupboard forever and I didn't know what to do with them, thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Sorry, this was bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I used cooked, regular white rice and drained the beans and tomatoes. Also added some Cajun seasoning. Served with Kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I think it would have been really good(esp leftovers) if i had used white rice and stored it separate from bean mix! I used some of other reviewers tips: Rinsed and drained the beans, added an extra can of tomato, added a can of 50% less salt corn, cilantro, and fresh squeezed lime to taste. I cooked all this together, and then added cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Very tasty, especially for a quick weeknight meal. I used 2 cans of black beans drained, 2 cans of Italian style stewed tomatoes, and added 1 can of no-salt-added corn so we would have some for leftovers. I also added garlic to the onion and cumin, a dash hot sauce, salt, and cilantro to the bean mixture while it was simmering. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
SO GOOD! I loved this. I did use brown rice instead. Also, I used 1 clove of garlic instead of the garlic powder and olive oil instead of vegetable. Two things... I did have to add about 3/4 cup water to get enough liquid for the rice to cook and I would have liked more tomatoes in there. So, next time I will use 2 cans of tomatoes so I get more of those plus enough liquid for the rice. Tasted great as leftovers too. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I made a few modification as well. But everyone in my house including my 4 and 2 year old loved this. I sauted the onion and garlic is a large skillet, then I used that skillet to cook brown rice in chicken broth with a dash of cumin. Once the rice was done I added the other ingredients. Oh and because it is tomato season I used fresh. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Good side dish. I followed other's recommendations: Olive oil instead of vegetable oil, diced tomatoes instead of stewed, 2 cloves minced garlic, and garlic powder, onion salt, and a bit of basil. The recipe turned out surprisingly sweet- a nice counterpoint to and pairing with a medium or hot salsa. Very easy and quick to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I followed others advice about the garlic, oil and brown rice but I also added about half a package of taco seasoning to give it more flavour. I also added chicken breast and made it a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
An easy recipe to put together...I took others' advice and used olive oil, diced tomatoes, minced garlic (instead of garlic powder) and added 3/4 cups of chicken broth. I also added hot sauce and some sprinkles of cayenne pepper. Without the hot sauce and cayenne pepper, I think it would have been pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States