Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
My kids all loved this! I was looking for a bean dish that was tasty, but not too spicy. It was a hit! I loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! Added 1/2 pound of cooked ground beef and it made it a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made the recipe with Rotel tomatoes and green chiles and doubled it. I am doing as much home cooking right now being unemployed and this is one of those fantastic economical dishes that can be dressed up or down and changed to suit individual tastes. I do try to always cook the rice in a turkey or chicken stock preferably homemade, but a commercial stock works well too. Cooking the rice in stock really makes the end result more flavorful. I have used both white rice and brown, but never instant. I like the brown rice for the nutritional value, but both work. I thought it was super easy and tasted fabulous. Leftovers can be served in a number of ways. I do like heating the rice and beans in a saute pan with a couple of "holes" and breaking an egg in each space. Makes for great Mexican eggs with grated cheese on top with sliced avocado on the side. Served with some salsa or salsa verde and a heated tortilla makes a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Yum! and was sooo easy to make. I didn't have onion and used cooked rice but followed everything else to a T. Hubby and kids gobbled it up! I added some hot sauce to mine...sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe is great. I didn’t mix the rice and beans, made beans separately. The only thing that I added was 1 T salsa to cut the sweetness of the stewed tomatoes. I served this with Salsa Chicken, from Faye on this site, and Lundberg Wild Blend rice (found in the organic section) with a dollop of sour cream. It was a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was great. I did substitute garlic salt for powder, since it was what I had. Also, I made rice on the side rather than add instant. I added diced chicken breast as well, but think it would still be great without it. So healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe using pantry staples for me! I modified slightly by adding cumin & chili powder and Ro-Tel instead of regular canned tomoatoes to give it a little kick. I also sprinkled some cheese on top since it wasn't the most appealing in appearance!! Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a very yummy recipe! I added fresh chopped tomatoes to it and it was great. My kids loved it too, plus it is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is very easy and very good. I drained the beans, used petite diced tomatoes, used Uncle Ben's ready rice whole grain blend, and sprinkled some chili powder and cumin on it. A big "thumbs up" from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Good, easy meal. Needed some more flavor though. We added cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Keeler Bohling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States