Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Good, but a little bland as-is. I used diced tomatoes with spices, added half a red pepper chopped with the onions, real garlic and brown minute rice. I served myself a small bowl as-is and then added cumin, chili powder, and a tsp chili peppers. Much more interesting, bit maybe lacking a bit of ground beef or something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I have made this a few times and it does taste good as is. However, I like to add a tablespoon of Italian salad dressing. I have used white rice and other whole grain rices. White rice cooks the same but I have cooked the rice separately and added it in the end as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Made this recipe for the first time tonight and it was really good and flavorful. The only thing I did different was use fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder and used a cup of cooked brown rice. It was quick and easy and will become a regular dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very Good! Except I made minor changes... Olive oil instead of Vegetable oil, I rinsed the beans and drained the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this yesterday, and thought it was pretty delicious. I used regular white rice instead of instant, since that's what we had on hand, and I pulled a can of diced tomatoes that actually already had garlic, oregano, and basil in it so it was an easy preparation. I also used a red onion, since that's all I had on hand, but it was still great. A lot of people say that the flavor is a little bland, which I agree, but I have a weird enjoying of certain types of bland food, so it didn't bother me much. I did add a packet of Sazon seasoning, 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and a dash of cumin, though, but I think 1/4 tsp was a little too much. I didn't actually need to add more liquid like others had to, so I guess that just depends on if your tomatoes and black beans are especially watery or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
good base recipe. didn't have a ton of flavour - but since i was serving a spicy main dish that was alright. next time i'll definitely add some more flavour though. i also cooked the rice seperately and then added it in, seemed to work well that way. i also didn't add the bean liquid - there was plenty of liquid from the tomatos - but i can see how you'd need more if you're cooking the rice in there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was an easy and tasty side dish. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
My kids all loved this! I was looking for a bean dish that was tasty, but not too spicy. It was a hit! I loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! Added 1/2 pound of cooked ground beef and it made it a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made the recipe with Rotel tomatoes and green chiles and doubled it. I am doing as much home cooking right now being unemployed and this is one of those fantastic economical dishes that can be dressed up or down and changed to suit individual tastes. I do try to always cook the rice in a turkey or chicken stock preferably homemade, but a commercial stock works well too. Cooking the rice in stock really makes the end result more flavorful. I have used both white rice and brown, but never instant. I like the brown rice for the nutritional value, but both work. I thought it was super easy and tasted fabulous. Leftovers can be served in a number of ways. I do like heating the rice and beans in a saute pan with a couple of "holes" and breaking an egg in each space. Makes for great Mexican eggs with grated cheese on top with sliced avocado on the side. Served with some salsa or salsa verde and a heated tortilla makes a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States