Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Basilica
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Really delicious and simple. I use regular rice and make the beans with fresh garlic and add hot pepper flakes. I finish it with hot sauce (but I like my spice pretty high) and that really brings out the flavors. I make this once a week, my vegetarian husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
after following the recipe to the letter, it's not bad. I will make this again but I will probably rinse the beans and use diced tomatoes instead of the stewed ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sorrento, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
My daughter and I LOVED this. I added a pinch of ground cumin and thyme, along with a small sprinkle of Mrs. Dash lemon-pepper seasoning and about 1/4 tsp of basil to the other ingredients. I also used quick brown rice instead of white. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
ellen made - we both thought it was excellent. Used canned diced toms instead of stewed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is delicious! I add some Red Hot and it's ready to go. Next time I make it, I'm going to make some pork and add that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great! I used a clove of garlic instead of the powder, and used water instead of the bean juice from the can to cut out some of the sodium. I'll be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was so delicious! I followed the recipe but I added my own twist. I did not have chicken broth so I cooked the rice in the rice cooker, boiled the beans, and saute the onions, red peppers, added some hot pepper for some spice, ginger powder, chicken bouillon cubes, and fresh basil. I mixed the cooked rice, beans and the sauce together and squeeze some lemon juice on it and stirred to mix the flavors. It turned out great! I made some chicken to eat with it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty good....nx time I would add more seasoning...I also used brown rice instead of white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Quick, great meal. It's yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Yummy! I used tomato sauce (because I didn't have a can of stewed tomatoes) and used some chili powder and cayenne pepper to spice things up a bit. I also cooked the rice (jasmine rice) alone and topped it with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwileygo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States