Rice with Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was just OK. Will not make again the way this was written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This wasn't a bad recipe and extremely easy. and Easily customizable! Since a lot of people were saying that it needed a little "more" I bought a couple of Serrano peppers and the diced tomatoes I bought were seasoned. I cut up two of the peppers (they were small) Some Onion and olive oil and let that cook down. Added garlic powder and a bit of cumin then the beans and tomatoes. I cooked the rice separately and it was great. Since the peppers made it spicy I mixed in some leftover ground beef made for tacos and sour cream and it was an awesome main dish. This is an awesome base and I will most definitely be making a customized version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
i love it i made it for my family tonight, as a thirteen year old this was my first big meal to cook and it was amazingly easy and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I had dry black beans and regular brown rice at home instead of the instant, prepared them like usual and made the dish accordingly. Even doing it that way, it was a simple and tasty dish. I used fresh oregano from my garden, and added fresh parsley from my garden as well on top for a good twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe for a night when you have little time to prepare dinner. Sprinkle a little cheese on top and you have a filling and delicious alternative to fast food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
i use brown rice instead and cooked it separately. i add a quarter stick of margarine to the water of the rice. i used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. i mix it all together and serve it in whole wheat wraps and put sliced tomatoes in the wrap. also worked great with a hot sauce on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yishai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My family loved this recipe! I used basmati rice (didn't have any instant rice), no salt added black beans, and no salt added stewed tomatoes; it turned out great! I plan to use brown rice next time for even more nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Basilica
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Really delicious and simple. I use regular rice and make the beans with fresh garlic and add hot pepper flakes. I finish it with hot sauce (but I like my spice pretty high) and that really brings out the flavors. I make this once a week, my vegetarian husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
after following the recipe to the letter, it's not bad. I will make this again but I will probably rinse the beans and use diced tomatoes instead of the stewed ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sorrento, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
My daughter and I LOVED this. I added a pinch of ground cumin and thyme, along with a small sprinkle of Mrs. Dash lemon-pepper seasoning and about 1/4 tsp of basil to the other ingredients. I also used quick brown rice instead of white. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States