Rice with Almonds and Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was absolutely delicious and easy! I used a little more butter than called for by accident and I think it made it even better! I toasted the almonds and have also made this with wild rice and it tasted just as great! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
For something so simple, this was really nice! I replaced the onion with a very small amount of onion powder, left out the salt and pepper, and next time would slightly reduce the amount of butter as well. This recipe made a great side dish for Honey Grilled Fish, and it would probably go well with any other flavorful fish as well. I didn't personally care for the taste of the raisins, but they look beautiful and are easy enough for picky eaters to avoid :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I love just about most rice dishes but love those that have more flavor and this one delivers that. The only change I made (I just couldn't help myself) is that I added about 3 cloves of crushed garlic and saute that with the onions since that is what I do with my rice. It was just natural to me. The kids were not a big fan but I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made this twice so far, and liked it. For some reason I feeled like maybe it might be missing a little something but overall a nice side dish. I think the amount of onion can be cut down slightly and I might try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
The family loved this rice recipe. I caramelized the onions a bit, which gave the flavor a little extra sweetness. The almonds were a great additional for texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Husband absolutely loved this recipe. It was easy, goof-proof and I had all the ingredients on hand. Worked super well with roast chicken dinner. I can see where the "base" of this recipe could support multiple variations of ingredients--really nice addition to plain white rice. I liked it, just not a big fan of dried fruit in rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I wanted rice with my bourbon salmon and this was perfect. Simple with a great flavor. Thanks Annette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is the best rice dish I've ever had! I love the combination of flavors! A great dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was really delicious! I even left out the onion because I ran out, but it was still good. I will make it as directed next time. We ate with Egyptian Moussaka and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I leave out the raisins because I don't like them. This dish has loads of flavor even though it seems so simple. I make it in the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States