Rice with Almonds and Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was absolutely delicious and easy! I used a little more butter than called for by accident and I think it made it even better! I toasted the almonds and have also made this with wild rice and it tasted just as great! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
For something so simple, this was really nice! I replaced the onion with a very small amount of onion powder, left out the salt and pepper, and next time would slightly reduce the amount of butter as well. This recipe made a great side dish for Honey Grilled Fish, and it would probably go well with any other flavorful fish as well. I didn't personally care for the taste of the raisins, but they look beautiful and are easy enough for picky eaters to avoid :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I love just about most rice dishes but love those that have more flavor and this one delivers that. The only change I made (I just couldn't help myself) is that I added about 3 cloves of crushed garlic and saute that with the onions since that is what I do with my rice. It was just natural to me. The kids were not a big fan but I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made this twice so far, and liked it. For some reason I feeled like maybe it might be missing a little something but overall a nice side dish. I think the amount of onion can be cut down slightly and I might try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
The family loved this rice recipe. I caramelized the onions a bit, which gave the flavor a little extra sweetness. The almonds were a great additional for texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Husband absolutely loved this recipe. It was easy, goof-proof and I had all the ingredients on hand. Worked super well with roast chicken dinner. I can see where the "base" of this recipe could support multiple variations of ingredients--really nice addition to plain white rice. I liked it, just not a big fan of dried fruit in rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is the best rice dish I've ever had! I love the combination of flavors! A great dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I wanted rice with my bourbon salmon and this was perfect. Simple with a great flavor. Thanks Annette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was really delicious! I even left out the onion because I ran out, but it was still good. I will make it as directed next time. We ate with Egyptian Moussaka and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I leave out the raisins because I don't like them. This dish has loads of flavor even though it seems so simple. I make it in the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States