Rice with Almonds and Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was absolutely delicious and easy! I used a little more butter than called for by accident and I think it made it even better! I toasted the almonds and have also made this with wild rice and it tasted just as great! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
The family loved this rice recipe. I caramelized the onions a bit, which gave the flavor a little extra sweetness. The almonds were a great additional for texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This is the best rice dish I've ever had! I love the combination of flavors! A great dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Delicious! Really easy and very tasty. It makes a pleasant change from the ordinary, with ahrdly any work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Very good rice recipe. I think it would be better with wild rice instead of white. I toasted the almonds and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
For something so simple, this was really nice! I replaced the onion with a very small amount of onion powder, left out the salt and pepper, and next time would slightly reduce the amount of butter as well. This recipe made a great side dish for Honey Grilled Fish, and it would probably go well with any other flavorful fish as well. I didn't personally care for the taste of the raisins, but they look beautiful and are easy enough for picky eaters to avoid :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I used this as a side dish to serve with some Asian style grilled chicken. The flavour was subtle with a nice crunch from the almonds. It didn't take anything away from the flavour of the main dish. I added half a teaspoon of Tumeric to give the rice a more golden colour. This is a good base to add more flavours if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is so easy and tasty. I mixed white rice with brown rice and added chopped dried apricots as well for a little variation. The more fiber the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a wonderfully easy recipe that tastes good. I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins. It makes a great dish to serve with poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HORSINAROUND82
Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
my family liked the rice very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States