Rice with Almonds and Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I leave out the raisins because I don't like them. This dish has loads of flavor even though it seems so simple. I make it in the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I made this twice so far, and liked it. For some reason I feeled like maybe it might be missing a little something but overall a nice side dish. I think the amount of onion can be cut down slightly and I might try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Great side dish! I followed the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe. The raisins and almonds make the rice a little sweet, which was perfect for me. I gave it 4 stars because my husband only thought it was good, not great. He doesn't have my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Amsden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
A good accompaniment to fish - I made the recipe as directed except added the almonds with the other ingredients so they would soften. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
my family liked the rice very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a wonderfully easy recipe that tastes good. I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins. It makes a great dish to serve with poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HORSINAROUND82
Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is so easy and tasty. I mixed white rice with brown rice and added chopped dried apricots as well for a little variation. The more fiber the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I used this as a side dish to serve with some Asian style grilled chicken. The flavour was subtle with a nice crunch from the almonds. It didn't take anything away from the flavour of the main dish. I added half a teaspoon of Tumeric to give the rice a more golden colour. This is a good base to add more flavours if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
For something so simple, this was really nice! I replaced the onion with a very small amount of onion powder, left out the salt and pepper, and next time would slightly reduce the amount of butter as well. This recipe made a great side dish for Honey Grilled Fish, and it would probably go well with any other flavorful fish as well. I didn't personally care for the taste of the raisins, but they look beautiful and are easy enough for picky eaters to avoid :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States