Rice Vinegar Basting Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I found the vinegar scent way too strong for me. I had high hopes, but didn't enjoy the final product until I sprinkled Caribbean Jerk powder on my chicken breasts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javyjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Used chili sauce instead of tomato, upped the soy sauce a little and reduced the sugar by half. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LA ESPOSA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
My husband said this was the best BBQ Chicken he had ever made on the grill. I made the basting sauce as directed, except for reducing the sugar to 1/2 cup. Perfect! Kids loved it, too. Would be good on pork or salmon. Thanks for a great new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was very good, but very similar to 'Japanese chicken wings' from this site. Sorry, but I prefer the Japanese chicken wings recipe to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Very special recipe. Just like the chicken you get at a bbq restaurant.. Really underrated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marikka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very Good!! We used this basting sauce on grilled chicken and it was very tasty!! As suggested by others, I too, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was sweet, but not too sweet. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. This is a snap to put together and an added bonus - I had everything on hand in the pantry. I made it early in the day and just let it sit at room temperature until grilling time. The chicken came off the grill with a beautiful sheen, and it was moist and delicious. I’ll be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Not a bad sauce...way 2 sweet even for my husband who typically likes a sweet sauce...i had to cut the sauce with some hot chili sauce, that helped a little...if i were to make this again, i would cut the sugar to less 1/2 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
After reading the reviews i decided to add a tbsp of red pepper flakes to counter the overly sweet flavor that others said it had. It really did the trick and the sauce was awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metallicangel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Love, exactly as written! One quick note: I notice a lot of ppl subbing fresh ginger for jarred or powdered in recipes - Buy a "hand" of ginger, wrap it in plastic wrap then put in a freezer bag, and use as needed. It's super easy to grate this way - just peel a small amount, grate away, then back in the freezer. Hope that helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Its a good sauce, alittle sweet for me..next time cut sugar to 1/2 cup..I added a little salt and tobasco for heat..I didnt have fresh ginger on hand,so I used powder ginger 1 tsp...next time I might try the sesame oil....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States