Rice Stuffing with Apples, Herbs, and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Doubled the recipe for a large group. (Added the broth to the wild rice as other reviewers suggested). Great flavour. People really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this dish for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! The flavours blended together wonderfully. I omitted the cherries and increased the apricots, and used pancetta instead of bacon but it worked well. I also used fresh herbs - thyme, oregano, sage and parsley - the aroma was incredible! Also loved that this was gluten and dairy free! I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Wow, this is delicious. We eat gluten free, dairy free and sugar free and I searched so many places to find a good stuffing recipe. This was a huge hit! I read the reviews and cooked both rice and then while they were still moist added the other ingredients. I used the herbs like Diane suggested. I will definitely make this again and will become my yearly holiday go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I did not use that much celery or onions. It was very good and was a change to the usual stuffing made with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
After reading all the reviews, I decided to decrease the dried fruit and omit the mixed herbs. I liked the flavor of this dish, but it had no eye appeal at all. I used Zatarain's Wild Rice Mix and used only the amount of liquid (water and chicken broth) the back of the box called for. When I added the Uncle Ben's white rice and continued to cook it, it got all sticky and mushy. In hind sight, I think I could have cooked the wild and white rices together at the same time since both needed to cook for 20-25 minutes (rather than the 45 minutes stated in the recipe for the wild rice). While I did enjoy the flavors of this dish, my husband didn't, so I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
No one in my family ate more than a couple of spoonfuls. Just did not care for the taste - it was too intense and way too much fruit for a stuffing. I did substitute sausage for bacon as it is not available where I live so perhaps that is the key ingredient. I still can't see enjoying so many crunchy items with so little rice in a stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was WAY too busy for our taste. Lots and lots of flavors that didn't seem to mingle very well. Thanks for the recipe; it's just not for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipie is so delicious! I altered it a little bit. I didn't add the apples. I added 1 can of cream of chicken soup to add some more moisture to the rice and serve it as a main dish. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I found this a little too heavy on the dried fruit and herbs, plus it needed a little something to bind it together better. Next time I will make only with apples alone or with cranberries alone and maybe just two tablespoons of dried herbs. Also need to figure out something to hold it together, maybe some cream or soy milk mixed in. Nevertheless, I thought the overall product was worth four stars, particularly because this is a wonderful Thanksgiving table alternative for those allergic to wheat. The bacon is really necessary to balance the sweet with the savory and in my opinion should definitely not be omitted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
WOW! So good. I feel bad rating this because I didn't have quite all the ingredients, but it was just so yummy that I have to say something! I only used dried cranberries and then doubled the apples, and it was absolutely incredible. I also ended up picking some of the parsley out after I'd added it because it seemed like too distinct of a flavour. Maybe I just needed to cut it a little more finely. I also threw in some chopped pecans to one serving of it, and that was a great addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States