Rice Stuffing with Apples, Herbs, and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
It should read: "Cook 1 cup of wild rice in 1 1/2 cup of water AND 1 1/2 cup of broth, for a total of 3 cups of liquid". Other places online say that 1 cup of wild rice should be cooked in 3 cups of water, so that's how we tried it and it was great! BTW, we're vegetarian and left out the bacon all together and it was really great wrapped in Tofurky turkey lunch meats and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Awesome recipe! I served this with 'Roast Chicken with Rosemary' from this site and it was wonderful. Would be great for a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I love this stuffing! This is the second time I've made this and it turned out awesome. Make sure to use a large stock pot to cook the wild rice in, because you end up adding a lot more to the pot later on. For the herbs I used 1 Tbsp. rosemary, 2 Tbsp. basil, 1 Tbsp. oregano, 1 Tbsp. thyme, 1/2 Tbsp. marjoram and 1/2 tsp. ground sage. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper. The great thing is you can adjust the herbs according to your tastes. To cut costs, I only used raisins and craisins (skipping the apricots and cherries). It still turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I purchased a long grain and wild rice combination and just cooked it up acocrding to the package directions. I used microwave bacon (I hate bacon grease) and set it aside. I sauteed the onion and celery, and added the fruit to the rice while the rice was still a little 'wet'. Added the celery and onion, the dry herb mix (basil, organo, thyme, sage) to the rice and fruit and cooked on med-low until everything was cooked through. Added the bacon and parley and mixed until warm. This is an incredible dish. DH and I plan on using this a a foundation form here on out and will play around with substituting the bacon for chicken sauage, and the fruits and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
One word... WOW!!!!!!!!! This is so good. I added some roasted pecans in the second batch I made and they added a nice touch. Thanks for sharing this outrageous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The instructions for the recipe are not written correctly, omitting the broth that is called for in the ingredients list. The uncooked long grain rice do not soften in the time instructed. I think this would be a great recipe if the long grain were pre-cooked and then mixed into the other ingredients. The flavor was good, the texture was crunchy. No one would eat it at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I am in the process of making this seemingly wonderful stuffing for Turkey day tomorrow, and it says nowhere in the recipe what to do with the 1.5 cups of the chicken broth! Yikes! I guess I will wing it, and let you all know later with a rating as to how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This stuffing is delicious. It was a super hit for my "gluten intolerant" friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Liked this a bunch. Went great with a roast pork tenderloin. I just made my wild rice separately as well as the white rice. With the wild rice, I used chicken broth plus some water. Added some golden raisins as well. This was very tasty served cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Before I prepared it I told my husband what was in it and If he wanted me to cook it for him to try. He said no, well I fixed it anyway because I liked most all the ingredients and he ate more than anyone else. Said it was delicious and fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States