Rice-so-Nice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
My family has been making this recipe for years. The only difference is we add a whole bay leave to the cooking process and remove it (it will float to the top) before serving. Adds alittle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was really good...but make sure you like the flavor of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
VERY TASTY AND SUPER EASY TO MAKE. I MADE IT BOTH WITH MUSHROOMS AND WITHOUT AND TASTES GREAT EITHER WAY. DEFINATELY A KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Sexton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Really, really good. Super simple to throw together at the last minute. No pics because we ate it so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was good. I had tried a recipe that was similar. Well, since I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup it was identical. I didn't realize it until after dinner and I was reading my review for the other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love the simplicity of this dish. I only used 1/4 cup of butter which seemed like plenty. This rice does end up quite salty tasting however. The following day I used what was left and tossed in leftover cut up steak for a quick meal. So easy I'm sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I like this. I increased the rice by 1/2 cup, added another can of onion soup, and used 1/2 cup butter total. Also used fresh mushrooms. In the oven for about 45 minutes - perfectly done. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was ok. I made it two different way's one in my rice cooker with a can of the french onion soup. The other I made in the the oven with a Onion Soup packet. All agreed, The oven rice came out much better, it was far more flavorful. The only problem I had with my oven rice, was the bottom stuck to the pan. The rice in the rice cooker still came out pretty good, just a bit more bland. I dont know if I'll be making it again..My husband didn't care for the onion soup flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Awesome Rice! Great flavor, nice and tender and moist. I followed the recipe as stated but did add another 1/2 cup of rice after reading the reviews. I baked it at 350 for an hour and it was perfect. I probably could have cut down on the butter but it was just wonderful and tasted so buttery and not greasy. It will be fun trying the chicken broth next time to see how that flavor is. We will enjoy this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Very tasty and fuss free. I made it without the mushrooms and only used 2 TBSP butter. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States