Rice Pudding (Kheer) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I love this recipe! I had Kheer for the first time yesterday at an Indian restaurant. I liked it so much that I immediately came home and started looking for a recipe. I used this recipe and it was just as delicious as what I had at the restaurant. I made it almost exactly like the recipe except for just a couple of minor changes. For example, I only had cardamom seeds in my pantry, so I crushed these and added approximately 1/2 of a teaspoon in place of the cardamom pods. This worked out very well and gives it a delicious flavor. The rose water is a very nice and subtle addition, but I'm sure the Kheer would still be delicious if you don't have any on hand. I noticed that a previous reviewer thought that it needed more rice, but I think this is probably the correct amount. The one that I had at the restaurant didn't even have this much rice in it. It was almost soupy enough to drink, which I presume is the way it is supposed to be. Since I was somewhat rushed, I didn't take time to soak the rice, but just rinsed it a few times in cold water. That seemed to be sufficient and I don't think it made much of a difference. I cooked mine uncovered as I was afraid that it would boil over and I couldn't watch it the whole time. I just kept it on a low simmer and stirred it now and then. This is a very sweet dessert and you can safely reduce the sugar just a tad if you prefer. I used sliced almonds which had been toasted lightly. This is good warm, but is even better after
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This recipe is exactly like the Kheer we get in our favorite Indian restraunt. I searched all over to try to find the right recipe. It's EXCELLENT! My husband can't get enough. Although he likes to just drink the milk and leave the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Wow, this is so good and so authentic! Exactly like what is served at Indian restaurants...even better! I like the addition of the almonds. I used basmati rice and lightly toasted the almonds. I had my doubts about the rose water, because it smells so "perfumey"...but it really accents the pudding beautifully. I also cut back on the sugar a little...I used 1 1/4 cups. The recipe as it is scaled makes a lot of pudding...it doesn't cook down much since there is no boiling involved. Next time I will scale down by half, since I am the only one in my family who likes pudding (I just don't get it)! Shazia, I make your Pasanday often and now this will be a regular treat, too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Addictive flavor. Although it takes time, this is a very easy recipe with simple healthful ingredients. The timing of soaking the rice is important. If you soak the rice for too long, then it won't absorb enough of the milk and it will turn out too watery. I substituted 4 tsp ground cardamom for the 4 pods which might be a little much, but I love cardamom. Be sure to stir the pudding while sprinkling the cardamom on so that it doesn't clump. I omitted the almonds and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is an awesome dish. I cooked it exactly as it's described in the recipe and it turned out delicios. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alba Iulia, Alba, Romania
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Outstanding! Almost better than the Kheer in good Indian restaurants. I let it cook down longer than the recipe called for. It was good before the rose water, but the rose water really adds complexity to the flavor. I skipped the almonds. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe was delicious! I did not have rose water and it was still wonderful! Well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I was very pleased with this recipe. I used 3 cups of goat's milk, 1/2 cup of sugar, 4 cardomon pods, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1/4 cup of rice. i followed the cooking directions exactly and it turned out great, a bit too sweet. Next time I will use a little less sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I've tried similar recipes that call for additions such as raisins, but the simplicity of this one makes it my favorite. Cardamom pods are impossible to obtain where I live, so I substitute about 1/4 tsp. of ground cardamom. If you've not tried it before, note that the consistency is very different from "American style" rice pudding--way more liquid. Excellent flavors, and don't be deceived by the cooking time; it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
As good or better than kheer I have had in restaurants. After reading other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Just right for my taste buds. I added a small can of coconut milk, 1/4 cup of golden raisins, and served the pudding with small bowls of toasted slivered almonds and chopped pistachios on the side. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States