Rice Pudding (Kheer) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Do not add more rice to try to thicken this dish. Kheer is supposed to be thin and runny. I have had it at many indian restaurants, and this recipe almost identical. A little less sugar and 1/2 cup coconut milk and this would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The milk didn't thicken for me, but the flavor was perfect. I just drained off some of the milk when serving... I added golden raisens and some slice almonds. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a great basic recipe but if you're going to make this kheer, please read the other reviews!! Mostly, cut back on the milk and sugar, and rinse but don't soak the rice. I make this with full fat milk, and I also like to add a few small strips of orange peel to the mix (just personal preference). I'm not a dessert person, but I can eat kheer for lunch and dinner every couple of months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I've been trying to find a rice pudding recipe that tastes like the rice pudding I used to get at my favorite Indian restaurants before I moved and I've been unsuccessful. Most have been too thick but this one was WAY too thin. It was like sugary milk with rice in it. The flavor was pretty good, although it was much too sweet. But the texture was just all wrong. I guess I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristie
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent recipe...just like I had at my best friends Mehendi party a couple months ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I had to cook this recipe almost 35 minutes longer than the recipe stated before the rice was tender.The pudding was a lot soupier than I was used to, but it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
As good or better than kheer I have had in restaurants. After reading other reviewers, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Just right for my taste buds. I added a small can of coconut milk, 1/4 cup of golden raisins, and served the pudding with small bowls of toasted slivered almonds and chopped pistachios on the side. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I've made this recipe twice in the last 3 days. Here's my strong suggestions: DO NOT soak the rice. The milk needs the starch from the rice in order to properly thicken. If there isn't enough starch, the pudding will be thin/runny. Use GROUND RICE! In your blender or food processor - grind about 3/4 cup rice as much as possible - there will remain some coarsely ground grains - this is perfect! Whole milk works best. However, if you're looking to reduce fat - I discovered that using a combination of 2 c. whole milk and 6 c. 2% milk is good. Just increase the rice a little bit to avoid a slightly thin pudding. Substitute a scant 1/2 tsp ground cardamom for the pods. However, I strongly suggest increasing the rose water a bit because the ground cardamom will drown out the rose water. CUT WAY BACK ON THE SUGAR! No more than 1 cup unless you want very sweet pudding. I preferred the taste using only 3/4 cup sugar. Quicker preparation: Bring milk to a boil; reduce heat, add ground rice and simmer 25 minutes (stir occasionally). Add cardamom & sugar; simmer 10 minutes. Remove from heat & add rose water. Almonds can be optional... top pudding with chopped pistachio nuts. When the pudding cools pour into a ceramic bowl, or individual ramekins; refrigerate until cold and set. 5 stars with alterations - otherwise a 3+/4-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I've tried similar recipes that call for additions such as raisins, but the simplicity of this one makes it my favorite. Cardamom pods are impossible to obtain where I live, so I substitute about 1/4 tsp. of ground cardamom. If you've not tried it before, note that the consistency is very different from "American style" rice pudding--way more liquid. Excellent flavors, and don't be deceived by the cooking time; it's very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I was very pleased with this recipe. I used 3 cups of goat's milk, 1/2 cup of sugar, 4 cardomon pods, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1/4 cup of rice. i followed the cooking directions exactly and it turned out great, a bit too sweet. Next time I will use a little less sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States