Rice Pudding (Kheer) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe was delicious! I did not have rose water and it was still wonderful! Well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This would be a five, if it didn't have so much milk. I lower it to six cups instead of eight and use 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is a very easy and flavorful dessert but it takes way to much time! I suggest that if you have an Indian or Pakistani Grocery near you, buy the Kheer Mix. It is very cheap and done in 15-20 min. All you do is add milk and boil, the rice is already in the packet. The packet looks small but it makes alot of kheer. If your willing to take the time this is a great dessert, but if you're impatient like me buy the mix. I serve kheer (made from scratch or mix made) over vanilla or pistachio ice cream and it tastes awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
It came out delicious, but took much longer to cook to the appropriate thickness. Still it was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kibbutz Sde Boker, Mehoz Hadarom, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Addictive flavor. Although it takes time, this is a very easy recipe with simple healthful ingredients. The timing of soaking the rice is important. If you soak the rice for too long, then it won't absorb enough of the milk and it will turn out too watery. I substituted 4 tsp ground cardamom for the 4 pods which might be a little much, but I love cardamom. Be sure to stir the pudding while sprinkling the cardamom on so that it doesn't clump. I omitted the almonds and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This was really tasty, but far too runny. I think next time I'll increase the amount of rice and decrease the milk. Still, it tasted like my auntie's kheer, and was a great excuse for me to buy cardamom and rosewater - two of my favorite flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Outstanding! Almost better than the Kheer in good Indian restaurants. I let it cook down longer than the recipe called for. It was good before the rose water, but the rose water really adds complexity to the flavor. I skipped the almonds. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is an awesome dish. I cooked it exactly as it's described in the recipe and it turned out delicios. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alba Iulia, Alba, Romania
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This was pretty good. I used the rice/milk proportion that the recipe called for, and cooked the kheer uncovered. I worried that the kheer was too thin, so I raised the heat and boiled some of the milk off. However when the kheer cooled it was too thick. So I think the rice/milk proportion stated in the recipe is correct. Also the rose water has a very strong flavor; I was not very careful measuring it and so the rose water overwhelmed the cardamom flavor. And I mixed in raisins & slivered almonds in the end. Overall this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
this recipe is alright, but its much better when you substitute half of the milk with coconut milk, and you can get by with only 3 T. of sugar, and half the amount of rose water, 1/2 tsp. of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States