Rice Pudding in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Good, but I changed one of the evaporated milk by one coconut milk and I cooked it one more hour and I found it a bit dry. Next time I'll do it with more milk and I'll cook it for 3-3 1/2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I tried it but too sweet changed the evaporated milk to coconut milk vanilla made by silk and only a 1/2 cup sugar Tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I wish I had listened to other reviewers. I followed the recipe as it is written. It is WAY too sweet, and this from someone who loves sweets. It could probably use a third of the sugar. It also calls for too much nutmeg which is very overpowering (once again, I love nutmeg). It requires more time than written, and more liquid. It does not taste like rice pudding. Overall, I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Now I know to read the reviews. It tasted fine after 12 hours(!) of cooking and even then the rice was not completely soft. If I were to try this again in the future I would definitely cook the rice first. I ended up adding liquid to this all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Nothing cooks in a slow cooker in 1.5 hours on low, or High even. I started it at 2 and it might have been ready at 6:45. I got tired of waiting. It's still cooling, so I haven't actually tasted it yet. I gave it the rating I did solely on the technique of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I wish I would have read reviews before attempting this. We had people over for dinner and it was embarassing that we couldn't eat it. After 21/2 hours on low I turned it to high and was another hour plus. Tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Long
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
i put in fresh split whiskey vanilla beans but don't understand why it says cook on low for 1 1/2 hours because it wasn't done....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Use SWEET RICE (from your local Asian store). I cooked on high for 2 hrs based on other reviews and it came out perfectly. Also cut the sugar to 3/4 c and it was still sweet enuf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I'm rating the original recipe 3 stars, but I managed to get 5 stars out of this recipe! Here's how: first, I precooked the rice on the stove. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I used one can of sweetened condensed milk and one can of regular whole milk. I skipped the sugar entirely because of the content in the sweetened milk. I added the vanilla, nutmeg, milks, cinnamon stick and cooked rice to the slow cooker. I let them go for 1.5 hours and then added one beaten egg and an additional 1/4 cup of whole milk. This is amazingly good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Natkat
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I only gave this 3 stars because the instructions for this dish are all wrong. I made the following changes and it ws over the moon. * I used 3 cups of water to 1 cup of sticky rice. * I cooked it on low for 6 hours * I gave it a stir and then added 1/2 cup of cocoa, 1/2 cup of sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a can of coconut milk. * I gave it another stir and let it cook for 30 more minutes while I got ready for work. * I then sat down to enjoy a warm, delicious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States