Rice Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
The only problem I found with this recipe is the amount of cooked rice. I have found that 1 and 1/2 cups does the job nicely. I have searched for months for a recipe that came close to a rice pudding recipe that I lost. This one fills the bill quite nicely. Great recipe. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
i have tried a few of the other rice pudding recipes and they all turned out quite nicely. maybe i did something wrong as i halfed the recipe but the egg separated and curdled and it was far too sweet. it also turned out an awful brownish colour. this is the only recipe that i have tried without success on this entire site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I had to check back to the recipe to see if I made a mistake because it seemed so soupy. I didn't understand, I didn't think I added enough rice and maybe that would make it better. I thought it was very sweet to, but I think the kids liked it better because of that. It was much better cold and much creamer. Really the tast wasn't bad and it was low in fat. OK I made this again and it turned out GREAT it was creamy and wonderful I think what happened is that I added like almost twice the rice it was so good I changed my rateing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
YUM YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I had cooked rice in the fridge, so I skipped step one. After reading the other reviews, I started with all cool ingredients. I thought this would avoid the "scrambled eggs" in the pudding. I followed the recipe exactly but halved it and baked in an 8X8 dish. The resulting dessert took 90 minutes to bake, and I wouldn't really call it pudding. I wouldn't call it custard either. I stirred this several times while it was baking (also thinking this would cut down on scrambled eggs). When I finally did remove it from the oven, it was covered with a layer of grease. I had to blot this with a paper towel. After sitting, the mixture did firm up a bit. The rice took on a brown tint from the raisins, and it was full of little bits of - yup - scrambled egg. This was extremely sweet, so I would recommend cutting the sugar by half. I think I will go back to stove-top rice pudding. I don't know that it's just this recipe - I think I just prefer the creamy texture of stove-top. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
My husband said this was the best rice pudding he had had since his grandma's. Even the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Oh I feel like I just got a great big hug. Yummy, Yum, Yum, Yummy. I used soy milk instead of cows cuz my son is allergic to the protien. It also took about 2 hour to cook. Still killer recipe. My kids will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofsixcuties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This SHOULD HAVE been a good recipe but something went wrong! The eggs separated and the pudding was much to soupy. Maybe just 4 cups of milk or increase the amount of rice since the pudding was pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
this recipe was either not yielded right because everything separated and the instructions arent precise enough something went wrong im usually good with recipes this one wasnt right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used 3 cups rice, 4 cups milk and 3 eggs, rest as written. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States